Sabbath Chanukah

D2499_09
in the south of Israel

Most of us live in little homes, hidden away in the back streets of the city, or on the horizon, at the edge of the fields. We wish for rain in the right season, and the light of the sun at other times… privacy, and peace… quiet. To learn a little something each day… to enjoy the company of those we love… peace and freedom is reason enough for a holiday.

D2499_63
little houses

D2499_17
planting potatoes in the field

D2499_67
a bicycle built for three

D2499_97
the fifth day of Chanukah

17 responses to “Sabbath Chanukah

  1. I really like these pictures….they show the simple and yet beautiful elements of life. Fresh coconut for the fifth day of Chanukah? Can you tell us what the meaning behind this is….
    Meanwhile, I send you wishes for peace and love….janet. xx

  2. I do have a Chanukiah, which, I regularly look at. it was a gift. As I have a problem with candles it is rarely lit. However, as I do like a candle glow, I bought a couple of faux lanterns last year together with battery- fitted flickering candles. I love them, in fact, so much so, I bought some more receptacles for similar ‘candles’ and I have them dotted them around our sitting room where I can really enjoy them.

    Do you have a tradition of giving Chunkah geld to children, and maybe some new clothes, or, is this specific to communities in diaspora?

    The table set is a delight. Agreed, ‘peace and freedom is enough for a holiday’. xx

  3. Too many of us have come to believe that our English word “ordinary” means boring, routine, of little significance. We’ve forgotten its roots, and the fact that it points to a well-ordered life. “Well-ordered” is the very opposite of regulated, of course. It’s rooted in realities that give rise to those small houses, those fertile fields: the same realities that allow peace and freedom to flourish.

  4. How lovely and peaceful.

  5. In one of those odd “two worlds touching” instances, I happen to own that same flashlight shown in the middle left of the last photo. (assuming what is in your photo is a flashlight, with an LED panel of lights).

    Thinking of you during this Chanukah season, and wishing you peace, privacy, and quiet. Today and many days to come.

  6. Thank you for reminding us that our daily life can be peaceful, happy, beautiful… through your beautiful post, Mr. Shimon.

  7. The glow of your candle lights, simply beautiful and I can almost taste the coconut! I send you love at this special time of Chanukah. xoxo

  8. !חג מבורך לך סיימון

  9. Very nice pictures and lovely thoughts to go with them

  10. I wish for the very happiness of holidays for you. Nice images. I did look up the reason and curiosity of the first day. It would be so nice to sit and chat with you. Raw coconut is not very common here.

  11. I so enjoy your photographs of the Land of Milk and Honey, made so by the hard work and ingenuity of the Jewish people. I’ve never had the opportunity to travel to Israel; your photos help me to visualize the Israel of my dreams. Happy Chanukah to you and your family from here in California.

  12. Ah yes, peace, good company, and being allowed to do your own thing…..lovely! The candles sit beautifully with your words.xxx

  13. The mundane can seem boring to a few but it has its own charms

  14. The pictures are wonderful Shimon…so much sky above the potato field. Each photo a different kind of light! I have also been lighting a candle for peace and for those who have too little of it.

  15. What a wonderful set of photos to accompany your very poignant description of your desires. Your very sound set of desires.

  16. Superb photographs Shimon to illustrate a supeb post as always!

Leave a Reply

