for the birds

D2331_12

My dear readers,
I was going to write an article today. In fact, I even started writing it. But in a moment of madness, I decided to try out the smart phone that I’ve had for a couple of years now. I thought I would just take a couple of minutes to try it out… and then get back to the writing. Well, it took me a couple of hours to figure out how it worked. And by the time I had done that, I was a nervous wreck. So what I had planned to write is half finished… and at best, will be written some other day.

D2324_19
sparrows on a country lane

What I discovered, is what I expected in the first place. While I feel quite comfortable with a computer, the smart phone is too small for me, and the keyboard too unwieldy. I barely ever use the phone, and originally bought this one just because I didn’t like the keys on my ancient cell phone. Now that I know how to send and receive mail on the smart phone, I may use it in case of an emergency. But I’m still hoping I won’t have any more of those.

D2330_10
this roundabout in Jerusalem seems symbolic of today’s misadventure…
with it’s sidewalk leading nowhere

The experience of trying to keep up with the day to day technology that all the young folks use these days, was frustrating. I’m almost sorry I tried. But I still have curiosity… and the phone was in my pocket… So that’s what I did. As I put the damn thing back into my pocket, I remembered an English expression I had learned years ago, “it’s for the birds”. It was meant to dismiss something… I don’t know what. Certainly, I couldn’t say that about the smart phone. No bird would try to operate it. But remembering that expression, I thought I’d show you a few birds I’ve seen lately.

D2326_16
from one of my trips during the recent holidays; a bird about to be uplifted

My cat friends and I enjoy watching the birds… even if they’re not meant for supper. Sometimes they offer inspiration. And often they symbolize freedom. Though Bob Dylan couldn’t help but offer us a taste of irony when he asked, “Are birds free from the chains of the skyway?” Wishing you all a very restful and enjoyable weekend.

P.S. One of the great things about writing a blog is the feedback. After having written this post, I learned from a reader the source of this expression, ‘for the birds’. It comes from a time when transportation was still dependent on horses to a large degree. And the horses would leave their droppings in the streets and along the ways they traveled. Certain birds would be seen regularly, feeding from the undigested grain in the horses’ leavings. And so the expression, ‘for the birds’ meant to say that though it seemed that what was in the street was nothing more than excrement, there were those who found some value therein.

74 responses to “for the birds

  1. Yes, sometimes those devices are for the birds! And the bird-brained among us who have tethered themselves to them. I rarely leave mine behind and always feel a little light when I do – in both a good and uneasy way.

    Great post today.

    • Hi there Bruce. I’ve had a few days to practice with the use of the phone, and it is easier now, to read and send mail… and to check something on the internet. But I have to say that for me, it’s a lot easier still to use the computer. I have a very little one that I carry in my back pack, so I can take it with me always. Thanks for the comment, and I’m glad you liked the read. By the way, I discovered the source of the expression, which I added to the post.

  2. I do like my own smart phone, Shimon, but I can certainly understand how it could be frustrating to learn its use when unaccustomed to something so small. But I love your photos. The last one with your lovely composition and sidelight is particularly compelling.

    • Thank you so much for the kind words about my photos, Cathy. I had been using the phone just for calling and getting calls. But when I saw friends using it as a computer, I felt I had to try. It does seem a marvelous tool. But I think I’m a little too awkward for such a small keyboard and screen. Still, I appreciate the technical advances that are constant in our world today. It is still great fun seeing others enjoy it… and of course, I might use it here and there if I don’t have access to a laptop.

  3. I think these things get more and more complicated with each new version of the software. And I recently tried to help my mother using one and noticed how complicated it is now…

    • On the one hand, they have become very complicated, and perform the work that demanded many different tools when I was younger. It’s the high tech of the Swiss army knife, I think. But they are also built to be user friendly, and I have friends who have learned how to use them very quickly in an intuitive way. I suppose the older we get, the harder it is. But I do appreciate what they can do. Thanks for the comment, Rabirius.

  4. Hello Shimon! Good for you for trying. I think you may one day continue with being curious .. But if not that’s ok. Two of my cat friends and I have become bird watchers too. Their ability to fly is very special and right now there are tiny birds feeding on the sunflowers and it is a simply delightful to observe.

    • Well, I did manage to figure out how to work it. And I will use it if there’s no laptop around. It has its advantages. But I am more comfortable with a standard computer. How good that you share our pleasure in bird watching… and I can tell you that I love watching sunflowers too. Thanks, Mother Hen.

  5. I loved this post. I honestly don’t believe you are the fumbler as your writing suggests. Anyone who can use digital cameras the way you do and digitally produce great shots, already has a great base knowledge of I.T.

    Smart phones are not meant, as far as I can see, for writing screeds. They seem to work well in a telegrammatic manner. Anyway, many providers do not encourage more than 16 characters in a mail message. Over that, your mail could be more expensive to transmit…hubby found this out recently. So, if your device is living in your pocket to be aired as and when it suits you, if you can use it to send a message or two, if you don’t want to be endlessly playing games on it, (which could be something for the birds!) then you are using your I.T in a perfectly acceptable manner .

    There is a great deal of electronic connectivity that swathes of people use and an equal number do not. Phones, like much of I.T, lend themselves to a great pick-and-pix use.

    Shabbat Shalom

    • So glad you enjoyed the post, Menhir. And thanks for the credit you give me. Though honestly, as I grow older, I find it a bit hard to keep up with the constant stream of technical advances that seem more miraculous all the time. As I’ve said before, I feel as if I was living in a science fiction story. I do agree with what you say about phones not being meant for writing screeds. Having picked up most of my habits in a previous age, I tend to write long letters. And picking out the words with one finger is a pain for me. I’m used to using all of my fingers when I type. Still, it does seem like a very impressive instrument.

      • Hi Shimon,
        the ’16’ digits in my comment should read 160..big difference.
        That’s the joy of doing two or three fingered typing on a tablet computer that cannot keep up with the speed that my digits work at! 🙂

        • Thank you for your correction, though I understood what you were talking about the first time… maybe others didn’t. And it might interest you to know, that because of the binary weight of Hebrew letters, we are only allowed 70 characters in our Hebrew text messages. That is one of the advantages of using mail on the smartphone. No limit… except for what the one finger has the strength to write…

  6. I’ve come to accept my smart phone, and texting as this is about the only way my kids stay in communication. It just about kills me when I have to change to a different phone and re-learn everything. But for e-mails, and other areas just give me my lap top. Though I do love the camera on the phone.
    I love your birds. This is the one thing I miss sorely at our new home; at the old place we had a back yard full of birds all the time that I enjoyed. Not so much here at the new place.
    Wishing you also a restful weekend.

    • I do texting too, Angeline. And that is what induced me to buy this smart phone in the first place. I found it very tiresome to push a numbered button three times to get the letter I wanted… and so I bought one that had a keyboard, but till last Friday, I never tried to connect to the mail server or the internet. And that turned out to be more complicated than I expected. Since then I’ve gotten a bit more used to it, but I still prefer a laptop. All the same, it’s a wonderful instrument. And I do enjoy watching others use it.

  7. like you Shimon, I hardly ever use a phone – other than for an occasional text or emergency. I have had a Blackberry for three years only because I can see keys more clearly.

    I find watching birds far more interesting than a phone:). Have a lovely weekend and please give Nechama a hug from me xx

    • Yes Janet, there’s no question that we have a lot in common. I bought this smartphone for the sake of texting. I wanted a keyboard. But when I tried to write a letter on it, it was really too small for me. Still I got a kick out of finding out I could use it, and now I have that possibility available for me if I ever need it. Thanks so much for your hug to Nechama. I have already given her your message. Wishing you a very sweet week, with all the pleasures you choose to enjoy. xxx

  8. As long as it works for you and not the other way around! Enjoyed walking with you and seeing the sights, and of course reading all about it!

    • You’ve expressed my attitude exactly, Patti. Thank you. There are so many new tools out there, and one could easily get lost, trying them all. But now and then we do find something that helps us do what we wish to do, and then it’s wonderful. Glad you enjoyed the post.

  9. I still don’t have a smart phone. (or i-phone, or what hell are they named).. People look at me strangely, that’s true, but I don’t give a penny. As janet remarque, looking around us is far more interesting (and if you have a lovely cat like Nechama in your arm, even better)
    🙂 have a great w.e. Claudine

    • Thank you so much, Claudine. I do enjoy watching others use the many new inventions that appear all the time these days. Occasionally I like to give it a try myself. But basically, I know that there are more wonderful things out there than I could ever know. And I just adopt those tools that really help me in what I want to do in this life. As we grow older, it gets a little harder to learn new things. And so it’s a challenge too, to try once in a while. But I’m very grateful that I have some fine tools and enjoy my work and play.

  10. My sister convinced me to trade in my flip phone for a smart phone (mostly because she wanted a smart phone, and as we all know, misery loves company). I’m not a big fan of the smart phone, although I’m sure for the technically-savvy folks it’s a wonderment of invention. For me? It’s too confusing, too small, and too complicated.

    I’ve managed to learn how to text by voice (sometimes helpful, especially when the teeny tiny keyboard is hard to navigate) and I’ve learned how to use the camera and then email the photos to myself (although there’s probably an easier way to get the photos to my computer). Other than those two additional features, there isn’t much I do with my smart phone that couldn’t be accomplished with an “old fashioned” flip phone.

    Truthfully, if someone hadn’t been there to show me the whole “slide your finger to the left or right, and press the appropriate icon” it is very likely I would never have even been able to even turn the phone on, much less unlock any of the fancy whiz-bangs. I don’t care if it makes me sound like I’m an old crone. I miss the simplicity of a desk phone. Really miss it.

    • My impression of the smart phone is that it is actually a computer, a camera, and a tape recorder as well as a telephone. It is one of those inventions that take me back to the science fiction books I read in the fifties, and I love them… from a distance. I am grateful that I have a laptop to work on, and feel very awkward when working with this little tool. And I don’t believe I’ll use it much more now than I’ve been using it for the last couple of years. But I am impressed by the possibilities, and enjoy watching others use their phones. It was an exciting challenge figuring out how to use it. But for the most part, I will stick with the tools I feel comfortable with. Thanks for your comment, Nancy. Always good to hear from you.

  11. I loved the sparrows in the country lane, and what a lovely country lane it is…..and that bird at the end is wonderful, what kind is it? Ah ….I could watch birds forever, yesterday I spotted a jay in my garden, the first in 24 years.
    I suspect you are fine at figuring out new gadgets…..but I simply can’t get my head around them. I am in urgent need of a new phone, computer and camera and the thought of coping with all three gives me the heebie geebies….I tried swiping on the screen of a small laptop hubs bought me and gave up, every time I touched it things became big, small or disappeared….five year old kids can do this, why can’t I???? sighs,,,,xxx

    • I think the bird in the last image is a seagull. I love watching them soar. Lately I’ve discovered that we have some very colorful parrots living wild in our city. Watching birds can provide surprises too. One of the problems with the new gadgets and tools is that they keep changing. When an old one gets worn out, and I go to the store and ask for one just like the one I used for a few years, the sales people look at me with patient compassion and explain that those days are gone forever. There are much better things on the market now. Always better. So though I am less flexible as time goes by, I have no end of challenges, as I try to keep in touch with the norms of the day. And as you say, it would be so much easier if I was a kid again. But sometimes, I do encounter a new tool that really opens up the horizons. I am so grateful for the computer, Dina. It has made my life much easier. You’ll get a new phone, and I’m sure your daughter will be able to introduce you to its wonders. All the best, my dear friend. xxx

  12. A delightful post, Shimon, and I share your frustration with the technology of the future.

  13. Neat bird post, Shimon … I love birds too, especially parakeets … so let me introduce you to: Billy and Lola (Cockatiels) and Bonkers and LIttle Boy (budgies) … Theo likes them too, but in a different way … Be well, friend, love, cat.

    • Glad to hear that you too enjoy the birds, Cat. I also added a note to the blog, telling where the expression comes from. My regards to your winged friends. Always so good to hear from you.

  14. I know how hard you must work at it, Shimon, but I always enjoy your gentle and positive take on life around you.
    PS. Aaron Zeitlin and his calf would disagree with Bob Dylan.

    • Thanks very much, Mary. It is an amazing life… and an amazing world. And how good to hear that you enjoy Zeitlin. Actually though, he employed the ironic approach in his verses too, long before Dylan.

  15. I don’t own a smartphone and will be holding out as long as possible. I don’t always carry the cell phone I do have. When the power went out today I was wishing we still had a proper landline. My cellphone batter was dead, and the new phones all require electricity for the message machine and other handy stuff, except when the electricity goes out.

    We have a lovely flock of peach face lovebirds. The original pair escaped their owner and have survived in the “wild” of the big city quite well.

    On the bright side, you did learn to use the phone. The article will be written, eventually. You’ve also amused your readers. 🙂 A good day’s work.

    • Yes Judy, I too have good memories of the landline. And I still own a phone that is attached to a cable, though I use it less and less as time goes by. I sort of like having a back up. I bought the smartphone just so that I could text without pushing the same number button repetitive times in order to transcribe a letter. But seeing people use the phone as a computer all around made me curious. And it is impressive. But a little unwieldy for me. How nice to hear of the peach face lovebirds. I have recently discovered parrots with exotic colors living here in Jerusalem. What a pleasure it is, lifting our eyes from the monitor now and then.

  16. Hi Shimon.
    You must know that we ALL have been in that place you mention. All you had to do was ask one of your grandchildren for help. 😉 The new and growing technology is both exciting and confusing, but it will change the world…hopefully to a better world. And…keep it on your person…those kind of emergencies are important for your and possibly others survival.

    • Hi Bob. Yes, I imagine that frustration is truly a universal experience for us all. But I’m sure you too know the stubborn determination to figure things out by yourself, even if the children or grandchildren could do it in their sleep. Watching others use these gadgets is what finally brought me to this recent adventure, and having learned how to work it, I’m glad I tried. Though I still think it’s not for me. I prefer writing and reading on a laptop, and photographing with a camera. But I will keep it for an emergency. Thanks so much for your comment.

  17. Awww .. I feel that way all the time. I learn something and then it’s changed. I really like communicating the old fashioned way – like calling. But, that doesn’t happen too often any more. I think you’re doing fine. I think I’m doing fine. I font, se la vie. 😎

    • I had a teacher once… many years ago, who believed that every invention… though it improved our lives, took something away from our natural born talents. I like communicating the old fashioned way too… say, face to face conversation. And even that seems to be in decline. But I can’t deny that I’m thrilled by the new inventions. Even if it’s hard for me to adjust some times. Thanks for the comment, Isadora.

  18. Shabbat Shalom Shimon – I applaud you for trying out the new smartphones – and establishing that their usefulness may be limited to what phones were originally intended for! The pictures of the birds are delightful!

    • Thank you very much Mimi, and shavuah tov to you. It was an interesting challenge, and I’m glad I learned how to use the instrument, even though I probably won’t use it much for mail or internet. Glad you like the birds. We’re very fortunate here in our country. There are a great many different birds; some of which live here, and some of which stop by on their way from Europe to Africa, or going the other way…

  19. Enjoy your weekend Shimon. Your curiosity is a credit to you. I find my smart phone is used only for phone calls and text messages. I’m sure it will do a lot more for me but I struggle with reception for the Internet in my rural county so I rely on my computer and laptop for the Internet and all that that brings. I’m sure when networks improve it will be different but for now most of my phone’s functionality is for the birds also.
    Your final picture is delightful!

    • Thank you very much, Chillbrook for your kind words. And I’m pleased you liked the picture of the bird. Yes curiosity is one of the many characteristics I share with the cats. From what I understand, these phones can work on both wifi and the telephone connections, so theoretically, they are supposed to have easy access to the net and mail. I don’t seem to have problems in that regard. What’s hard for me is dealing with the little screen and the tiny keyboard. As I said, it’ll be fore emergencies. And I carry the phone for it’s old fashioned capacities.

  20. That which is not texted can nevertheless still be received

  21. The image of the sidewalk is compelling, Shimon. Wishing you a nice weekend, also….

    • Yes, it’s amazing, the many little hints and stories that are hidden in the cityscape, waiting to be found. Sometimes these hints are obvious. But occasionally they have us wondering for quite a while. Thanks Scott.

  22. While the cell phone is handy in multiple ways, I still refer computing the old fashion way … but I don’t consider cell phones to be for the birds. Good eyes to catch the symbolism of the sidewalk … and good catch of that last bird. Blessings and joys to you!

    • I agree with you, Frank. The smart phone can be very handy. I find it very impressive that it’s pretty much a computer that can be held in the hand. It doesn’t seem to be something I’m comfortable with. But I’m sure I’ll use it now and then. Thanks for your blessing, and my best wishes to you too.

  23. If the day comes when my flip phone no longer does what I need it to do for me, I might consider changing. But my needs are simple: to place a call, to receive a text from those who insist on texting. It is true that texting sometimes will go through when a phone call will not: in a hurricane, for example. So that’s good. But if I want a photo, I have a camera. If I want to vist your blog, I have a computer. Life is good, and simple is better.

    And your sidewalk is delightful. It’s like an invitation to stop and have a look around.

    • Like yourself, I look for simplicity. But it seems I’m falling behind, and the world around me is changing rapidly. All the same, I have a good life, and I enjoy it. And now and then I get a glimpse of the future, and marvel at man’s collective imagination. Thank you so much for your comment.

  24. I’m happy to hear that you got your smart phone worked for you, Mr. Shimon! Youngsters are adapting to these technology gadgets quickly, part is because that is pretty much they do. I love the last photo, great capture of the uplifting bird. 🙂 Have a wonderful week.

    • Thank you so much, Amy. Yes, the youngsters adapt easily to the changes, and their world is fascinating. I’m satisfied to taste just a wee bit of it. So glad you liked the uplifting bird. And a wonderful week to you too.

  25. It seems we must keep up on the technology to some extent if we are to communicate with our young family members. Now, if I leave home without my smart phone, my day seems to have something missing. We are indeed creatures of habit.

    • Yes, I have to admit that I put my phone in my pocket when I go out too. But I don’t usually turn it on, unless I want to talk to someone, or am expecting a call or message. I enjoy quiet… or good music. Don’t like being interrupted. I’ve no idea whether or how much these new gadgets will affect my life. I admire them, but I’m a bit old fashioned, I suppose. Thanks for your comment, Bev.

  26. Lol! I am reading this while having breakfast and really made me laugh, so thank you for helping me start the day with a smile! I too had problems with it, starting with how to switch the darn thing on!!! That took me at least 10 minutes. My son had to come to the rescue in the end.
    Funny how I am now writing to you using it, as I am travelling and often find there is no internet connection for laptop, so I depend on it to keep in touch.
    You must persevere, my friend, like I did. You’ll get there! Best of luck. 🙂

    • Very pleased to hear that you are able to read my blog by way of the smart phone, Fatima. And even wrote me a comment with that fine tool. Actually, I tried it because I had one, and I admire them. I just feel a little cramped using them. All the same, I’m sure there are times and circumstances when they come in very handy. It is very portable and light weight, and that is a great advantage. Thanks so much.

  27. Ugh, I remember when I got my first smart phone – it took me quite a few months until I got used to the touch keyboard! Unfortunately now it’s so far rooted into life that I don’t feel like I can do without. I look forward to the time where life shows me that I’m wrong, though I have a feeling that day may never come.

    • Well, if you got used to it, Jess, that give’s me hope that I’ll get used to it too. I see the advantages, and for short messages, I’m sure it can help a lot. It’s true that once we get used to a tool or a habit, it’s hard to give them up. I remember I used to really love writing with a pen, and haven’t done that in years…

      • I’m glad to give you hope, haha! Wishing you all the best with it!

      • Also, why do you no longer write in pen, if you don’t mind me asking? I’m curious 🙂

        • When I was writing with pen and ink, and made a correction, or wanted to change the order of the words in a paragraph… I would often copy a whole page over again, so as to have a clean orderly page; neat and easy to read. I knew my handwriting was beautiful. And I enjoyed looking at it and wanted others to enjoy it too. Now the possibility of copy and paste, and easy corrections, have kept me from writing by hand for almost twenty years. I’ve lost the feel for the pen. When I write a dedication to a friend in a book, I actually find it hard to write with a pen. You have to keep using a tool in order to have a feel for it.

          • Oh I see! I get it now. Yes, due to computers and the way I was taught writing, my handwriting is unfortunately atrocious. I have plans to get better with it though.
            As for tools, I understand it – I don’t like drawing with pen, but I like pencil for it. It’s vice versa for writing 🙂

  28. Oh I am laughing SO hard … You have captured the frustrations of a “smart” phone perfectly. I got so frustrated with mine that I tossed it on my table and howled … “To hell with it … it’s way smarter than I am ..” And there it lay for another week until I built up the courage to reacquaint myself with it. We’re on barely speaking terms today … but I can’t say we’re on writing terms; Why would anyone WRITE a message on a PHONE?

    ( And the genesis of “for the birds” was a treat too.) . Thanks so much dear Shimon for brightening my day.

    • It makes me very happy, Nikki, to think I’ve shared a laugh with you. Though it does get harder to adjust to changes as we get older, I haven’t given up completely yet. And I do enjoy discovering new possibilities. Thanks so much for your comment.

  29. Dear Shimon, I really missed to hear you. Maybe you don’t know but I wasn’t in here (Istanbul and also on blogging world)… so I missed. You are amazing in your writing world… actually I should say in your well observed and well experienced knowledge, memories, I mean everything about your own life voyage! I always wait for more reading from your pen 🙂 You are like an old friend coming from my memories, or you are a very precious book to read… something like that… You know my English language is not very well but I try to express myself and my thoughts whatever I can. These birds made me smile… You can’t believe but I don’t have smart phone… I am still using the old style one and when it gets damage or when it doesn’t work, I am afraid to buy a new one like yours!!!!!! And believe me I don’t know anything about them… I mean how using etc. 🙂 ….. But I should add something too, the expression of “For The Birds” touching so divine too for me… They are the creatures between God and Human world, for me… Bob Dylan’s irony hits me in this point, “Are birds free from the chains of the skyway?” 🙂

    Thank you so much for these beautiful reading moments that you shared with us. Have a nice day, Blessing and Happiness, love, nia

    • Congratulations, my dear Nia. I am so happy to hear of the happy occasion. The truth is that I haven’t done much blog reading recently, and so I missed the good news, but when I heard that you hadn’t been home for a while, I rushed over to read what I missed. And I was delighted to read of your family’s joyous event. I am so happy for you all. There are many families here in Israel, who observe the henna ceremony, and I’ve even had the privilege to see it all close up (as a photographer). That is not so common, because it is usually just open to women here. I wish the young couple much joy and happiness, and young ones to bring fun and laughter to all of the family. Thank you so much for coming by and for your very sweet comment.

  30. I really enjoyed your post. It gave me a much needed laugh today. I also enjoyed your beautiful bird photos.

  31. Shimon,sometimes we have to change our ways as in mathematics when the Hindu-Arabic numeral system was introduced.The concept of place value invented by Hindu mathematicians was a strikingly innovative idea.
    If a person said they’d prefer to use Roman numerals then they would be completely left behind. From that and the invention of zero a system we still find useful came in.
    But to change from Roman numerals to some other system which did not incorporate place value,zero and eventually negative numbers, would not have much point..
    What we need to know is ,what parts, if any,of modern technology are comparable to that shift?A shift to a higher level of thought… or whether they are fundamentally rather trivial
    I find the phone with the 3 letters per key much faster for texting than a Qwerty keyboard , as long as one switches on predictive texting.
    I find it fun to find how these devices work.. like when I took the alarm clock apart when I was young to see how it worked… I did find out but never put it back together…. like the door of the oven which suffered the same fate.
    The Greeks made the first great step in inventing the notions logic and proof… but these major steps are not so frequent in human history.
    And the insights of those ancient peoples is forgotten just as is the invention /discovery of one God by the Jewish prophets and seers….
    As we lounge on the sofa in our sporty casual wear munching potato crisps,swigging beer and watching soaps on TV,do we think we are superior and more highly developed…I know what I think.

    I
    But to teach an older person, the qwerty keyboard is perhaps better..more obvious.
    texting

  32. My previous comment got posted before I noticed that the end bit was cut off from the main part.So it looks odd.
    I think that in the future only the mathematics that can be done on a computer will be developed.Yet Andrew Wiles who proved Fermat’s last theorem in 1993 never uses one.His type of work will not be done for much longer.
    Does this mean that this technological revolution is going to cut us off from much of value,not only in maths but elsewhere?I am afraid it may do so.
    We may be on the Titanic sinking but we’ll all be on our smartphones and will not see the danger…so it’s like a drug.
    Everywhere I go,admittedly not far just lately,people are on their phones walking through the colourful market and passing interesting folk of many nations who now live here.They are blinded by technology.I know you won’t be like that but it does concern me.

    • There has always been much more around us than we saw. We have to pick and choose from the abundance. But fortunately, there are many different tastes… so if one doesn’t notice this or that… someone else usually does.

  33. It’s amazing how much time our time-saving technologies take. I hope you get some pleasure from your new phone.

    • Thanks very much, yearstricken. Yes, I’ve noticed that, about time saving devices. Isn’t it terrible? I didn’t enjoy the phone that much… but afterwards I got a tablet, and that was a little more enjoyable… though it too has its limitations.

Leave a Reply

