days getting shorter

D2105_50

The days seem to pass very quickly. There was a period in my life, when I had so much to do, I’d plan the day to the minute. And it was amazing, how much I managed to fit into a single day. I am reminded of those intensive times when I talk to my children. They’re still doing that. Have a number of projects running at the same time; often eat on the run; answer mails on their cell phones; pick up something from the store on their way from here to there. I admire their pace, and their many accomplishments. All the more so, because they seem happy. They have the pleasure of accomplishment.

D2105_42

I start my day with a walk. It’s most beautiful shortly after sunrise. Talk to the neighborhood cats, and they share with me that which interests them. Each day is different. The light falls differently on the trees and bushes, and the neighborhood buildings. By the time I return to my studio to begin work, it’s already the middle of the morning. Time seems to move quickly. I often listen to music while I work. Music is a great inspiration, though. Sometimes, I have to stop work just to listen a bit better. A little after noon, I eat a modest lunch, and then take a nap. And in the afternoon, I spend the time studying and reading for pleasure. By evening there are often visits with friends and family. And at the end of the day, there are always things I planned to do, that I didn’t get around to. That’s the way it is at the end of the week, or at the end of the month… there are always things that I planned to do, and didn’t manage to get to.

D2105_31

I like the summer, and enjoy the heat. It’s almost never too hot, here in Jerusalem. And since the heat is a dry heat, I can enjoy it without an excess of sweat. The other day, I returned, with a couple of friends, to the ‘Spring Garden’, where I’d visited in the spring of this year. It’s an ancient garden at the edge of the city that had been deserted and abandoned for many years. The plant life had grown wild. The terraces remained, but the water ways had become blocked, the furrows forgotten, and the place had lost its lively culture. But then about ten years ago, some neighbors got together, and revived the garden. The water ways were cleared, and new fruit trees were planted, and old ones nursed. Birds and animals soon found their way to the renewed garden, and it is once again a lush corner of our world.

D2105_20

After a very pleasant walk among the flowers and trees, we returned to a pub, and had some beers in the patio, as we watched carefree people, many on vacation, walking along the street. The shadows grew long. The colors grew rich in yellows and orange. It was a pleasure to enjoy the long day, knowing that soon the days would get shorter. We ate pizza and a variety of salads. I especially enjoyed the stuffed mushrooms. They were delicious, and brought back good memories as well.

D2105_17

Because of the spring we had just visited, I was thinking about water. A few years ago, here in Israel, there was a bit of a panic about running out of water. Since then, we’ve created a few desalination plants, and it looks as if we’ll soon be able to supply as much water as needed, for an acceptable price. But I was reminded too, of our ancient forbearers who designed collection funnels on the roofs of the buildings here, collecting rain water for all the necessary uses. There is so much we can do, so long as we look for answers, and don’t raise our hands in despair.

D2105_11

92 responses to “days getting shorter

  1. Beautiful blog posting. I love the photos. As one who works too hard, especially at the moment, and doesn’t have time to just be and who never even does the homely tasks that need doing I wish I could get a better work/life balance!

    • I know how hard it is to find the right balance. Because for many years, I would sacrifice a good part of the weekend for work, not to speak of late evenings. When we’re completely involved in work, it seems as if ‘just this time’, and then things will straighten out, and we’ll be able to enjoy life. But it’s always something else. Looking back now, I’m not sorry for those intensive work years, because I did accomplish something. But I think I would have enjoyed life more if I had been stricter about protecting my pleasure time. Thanks very much, slithygimble for your comment.

  2. You capture the city well. I don’t do well in the heat- dry or not. And yes, it’s a wonder how we used to do so much when the kids were home. I miss those days.

    • I’m sorry to hear that you don’t do well in the heat. Do you like the cold? I always found the cold difficult, but I enjoyed the heat. But now, I find that sometimes it’s too hot for me too. Once it was never too hot. Thanks for the comment, Lisa.

  3. A beautiful and thoughtful post, my friend. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and the very nice photos, too.

  4. Life does move very quickly. I’m always amazed by what month it is already and wonder how we got here so quickly. I love the pictures in this post, especially the first one and the one of the outdoor café. Jerusalem looks beautiful; I hope I get to see it someday.

    • You’re a young woman, Kari Ann. You’ll see how much faster it all goes by when you get older. I used to have a special affinity to old folks when I was young, and I heard about time moving faster… but didn’t really know what they were talking about. Meantime, time has caught up with me. Glad you enjoyed the post. And I too hope that someday you’ll have the pleasure of visiting our city.

  5. Thank you, Shimon, for sharing your day and your life with us. My life is richer because of knowing about yours. Your wise thoughts, your kind reflections, and your mature perspectives serve to make me a more balanced person.

    • Thank you very much for your kind words, Ruth. Sometimes when we’re young, we feel a bit alone, and we have a great longing for someone ‘just like us’; a soul twin, so to speak. But as we grow older, we often discover that we have much to learn from those who are different from us. Thanks for the beautiful comment.

  6. I, or more-correctly, my wife and I, retired a couple of years ago, from running our family businesses. She has settled well into the new life-style, whilst I have found it very difficult.

    For over forty years I ran companies, with all the attendant problems, staff, stock, accounts, legal responsibilities, etc, so I was making decisions hour by hour, consulting with people, watching the pennies, and fitting in visits to Italy, Denmark, and France. The weekends were busy with the children, painting and decorating, gardening, looking after my choir, and fitting in the occasional holiday.

    Now that retirement is available, I miss this frenetic activity, and yet I seem to have no more time, perhaps as someone once said……work expands to fill the time available.

    Maybe I should just go and have a snooze now, and then think of what jobs are not really needing done today!

    • I know exactly what you’re talking about, Harry. It was very much the same for me. And at first, I thought that retirement was a disaster. In fact, I think I would have gone on working till I died, were it not for a heart ailment, which I tried to ignore but couldn’t. And after I did retire, it took a while until I found myself again. But it did take a while. And I’m truly happy today. But what brings me that happiness is not what I expected. I had to feel my way into it. You’re right about work expanding to fill the time. But I think we have to relax completely in order to find what is really meaningful to us in this reincarnation. Thanks for your comment.

  7. Thank you for this beautiful post, Shimon; your days are enviably your own, and your wisdom seems to fill them with friends, solitude, grace, art, and a true appreciation of the wonder offered by the world if only we can take time to perceive it. Shalom and a blessed Sabbath.

    • Thank you very much, Kitty, for your kind words and your good wishes. As I mentioned to Harry, just above, retirement was not something I desired. I had a very full life, and I enjoyed it. And it was only with the help of circumstances that I discovered I could enjoy life even more, when it wasn’t so full. Strangely enough, recently, because of the blogging, I started reading English literature again. And this brought with it a sense of perspective that I hadn’t enjoyed since I first retired.

  8. It seems that our minds were in the same places today, Shimon…I just posted about my day beginning, and here you’ve posted about your entire day and its ending. You might know that I’m not retired, but I am taking the day off from my regular work today. My little one wants to go visit the waterfalls out in the mountains, so we’re going to spend a bit of time out with Nature today. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and your day with us…and I hope you have a nice weekend.

    • I had a couple of days removed from the internet… and so I didn’t see that post till now. But enjoyed it very much. And I was especially happy to hear that you were off hiking with your son, enjoying a day in nature without being retired. I used to buy books and make plans for ‘after I retire’. And I did have good luck, and am still able to enjoy these pleasures. But it seems a shame that I didn’t take off more time for pleasure when I was in the thick of work. Thank you very much for your comment, Scott.

      • It seems that our internet habits have become addicting sometimes…and I do enjoy a couple of days away from it, too, every now and then. My little one and I did have a nice time in the mountains, Shimon…his presence in my life at this age reminds me of the days that I didn’t take off when his older brothers and sister were his age……so now we try to make it different. You’re welcome, my friend.

  9. Wonderful post. Time does pass quickly when one is content with one’s life. It’s so nice to read about yours.

    • To tell you the truth, Cathy, I think time passes faster and faster, the older we get. But of course, it’s much better when we’re enjoying life. Thanks.

  10. This sounds like some wonderful days, you seem to enjoy each and every minute whether you get intended things done or not….and that’s fantastic. I really like that pub!

    • Glad you liked the picture of the pub, Angeline. One of my frustrations with blogging, is that I always seem to have more pictures than I can find place to fit them in… I had some other pictures, inside. Maybe I’ll find an opportunity to use them. But I’ve said that to myself before.

  11. How lovely that people got together and rescued the Spring garden, that is very inspiring!
    I loved that first pic of the path wandering through the tress, and the idea of you meeting all the cats had me smiling, How I’d love to meet up with cats while out walking.
    Oh my, that pub looks like my kind of a place. How I’d love to sit there watching the shadows lengthen on a warm summer’s evening, while enjoying good company, beer and pizza….not forgetting those stuffed mushrooms!!! xxxx

    • Yes, it seems so natural to imagine you with us on that beautiful evening in the pub, Dina. But I shudder at the thought that it might have brought you back to smoking. We were sitting on the balcony because you’re allowed to smoke ‘outside’ here. And two of the three of us were smoking as we drank our beers, and enjoyed the delicacies. But it was great fun. Always good to share with you. xxx

  12. The photos are lovely, Shimon. I especially like the first one. It makes you want to follow that path, and you can almost feel the light and shade on your skin. Lyrical writing too.

  13. Dear Shimon,

    There’s no doubt that you talk to the neighborhood cats in the morning, do you get to talk to their owners too? Do people in your neighbourhood get into lively conversations? Here in England, I think people may just talk about the weather.

    I have never tried stuff mushroom — need to find out more. The Chinese in the south have a typical dish called the Three Treasures Stuff pepper, aubergine and tofu.

    What a wonderful day you’ve had. Today we went for a walk in the beautiful Mottisfont Abbey in the south of England. Beautiful landscape. There were lots of bumblebees about.

    Have a lovely weekend!

    • I imagine that the lives of cats here in Jerusalem are quite different from those of English cats. There are cats who are pets, and they don’t usually go out much. And if they do, they stay in the front or back yards of their owners. When I visit with them, I usually end up talking more to their human friends than with them. But there are also cats who are wild… who run free. Most of the Jerusalemites give them respect, and there are quite a few people who put out food and water for them, but they don’t belong to specific people. Since I have a great love of freedom, I allow my cat to go out at her discretion, for as long as she desires, and as far as she wishes, and she has her own door to use for exit and entrance to my house. She has introduced me to a number of wild cats, and I have introduced her to others I have met.

      I love Chinese food. But the one thing I’ve never learned to enjoy has been tofu. I think it’s more Japanese than Chinese, and I have tried it many times, but haven’t enjoyed it. Aside from that, though. I do love the food and the flavors. Thanks for your comment, Janet.

  14. I Still think I’m the king of procrastination. 😉 That spring is really done beautifully. My cabin is spring fed…by gravity. I’ve procrastinated for way too many years to do something creative with the overflow. We are already in a record of rainfall for this year. 14 inches over the previous record. Makes one think a bit strangely. Music while you work. 🙂 Me too. I absolutely loved playing Pink Floyd while doing surgery. Ah, I so wish we could meet one day.

    • When I was working full time, I never had patience for procrastination. But now, I have to say Bob, that that too has been added to my list of vices. Maybe that’s why I feel that there is never enough time. I don’t even know what Pink Floyd sounds like, but I have a feeling it’s not for me. Usually, I listen to Jazz of a very specific flavor. But right now, as I am answering comments on the blog, I’m listening to Mozart’s string quartets, and enjoying them very much. I too wish we could meet. I’m sure we’d have a wonderful time together. I’d even be willing to suffer Pink Floyd, so long as they came with a shot glass of whisky.

  15. Josie Two Shoes

    Such a beautiful, thoughtful post, Shimon! I suspect that it is the nature of life that some things always remain undone. I love the way you have your day structured now, and I envy you that freedom! I feel like I am always running in “behind” mode, but on Saturday I tend to do exactly as I please all day and it feels wonderfully freeing! I am also learning to be very careful about what I commit myself to, because I enjoy less restriction so very much.

    I found this statement to be very profound – “There is so much we can do, so long as we look for answers, and don’t raise our hands in despair.” We should write that everywhere for people to learn and remember! 🙂

    • You have consoled me somewhat, Josie, by saying that it is the nature of life that some things remain undone. I was convinced that it had more to do with my own personal nature than that of life, but I’m more than willing to accept your point of view. And of course, very glad that you enjoyed the post. After a life of working for very specific goals, it is a great pleasure now to share my thoughts with friends, with neither goals or restrictions. Of course, we all make our own frameworks… and sometimes the too are restrictive. Thank you, Josie.

  16. A slower pace is how I like it too, nowadays. And especially I think I would enjoy that lovely little cafe, which has Stella Artois, my favourite Belgian beer, sipping quietly and observing life going by whilst munching on some crisps too. Yes, a great way to spend a day, or two, or three….contemplating life, Nature and everything else. 😉

    • In recent years, we have been inundated by foreign goods. And among others, there have been a lot of European beers here in Israel, When I was young, there were only two Israeli beers, Maccabi and Goldstar, and I developed a taste for Goldstar. Since I prefer beer from the tap, there are times when I order Carlsburg instead of my favorite… in those places where it is only available in a bottle. But I guess I’m a victim of my own stubbornness, and haven’t really bothered to taste much of the many different beers available. Now that you’ve mentioned your favorite, I will try it, Janina. Thank you.

  17. I walk through your words and photographs too in your world… But of course, how I wish(ed) to walk after sunrise with you one day… As many of them said, I love your wisely touches about life… Blessing and Happiness, Thank you dear Shimon, love, nia

    • How pleasant it is, to have you join me for my walk, Nia. Thank you for your blessing and your good wishes, my dear friend. It is always such a pleasure to share with you.

  18. A very enjoyable day indeed Shimon, thank you so much for sharing it.

    • I’m glad it sounds good to you, Chilbrook. I have a feeling you enjoy many similar days, though you do seem a little more dedicated to photography than I am these days.

  19. I especially loved that first photo. But where is the “Spring Garden”? I would love to visit it.

  20. Slowing down always help me see the beauty of the world because I have time to notice. It is a gift to have time for true leisure – walking, visiting with friends, watching the sun set.

    • Yes, there are a lot of things about life that I learned to appreciate in old age. When I was young, I thought that sleep was a waste of time. I had so much, and still, I jealously guarded every minute. I’ve finally learned to relax. Thank you for your comment, yearstricken.

  21. ‘talk to the neighbouring cats’ – I love that, Shimon! 🙂

    Love your description of the light on the trees. That morning walk is precious indeed. A gratitude walk.

    Ah yes, I SO love summer also. Very glad you got the desalination plants in order in time.

    Wonderful photos, Shimon.

    • It’s truly amazing to consider that you’re on the southern hemisphere, and it’s winter there right now. But keep in mind that we’re approaching spring, and there’ll be warmer days and beautiful flowers in the fields soon. I’m wishing you many sweet days, and hope you enjoy a walk in the rain too, Noeleen. Thank you very much for your comment.

  22. What a nice walk you have taken us along, Shimon. Beautiful pictures, too. Yes, days are getting shorter aren’t they.

  23. Lovely reflection on the pace of life. The quote about life being what happens when you are busy making other plans come to mind. I was out on the hills yesterday afternoon picking wild bilberries and must have spent over an hour lost in the moment of the simple pleasure of foraging. Anyway… back to the work routine tomorrow for another week…

    • I like that quote too, Graham. I think it comes from one of the songs of the Rolling Stones or the Beatles (I’m not too good at popular music). But fortunately, we keep on learning in this life… and there is always new aspects to experience. How wonderful to enjoy the flowers and the berries of the open fields! Thank you very much for your comment.

  24. Your photos here are among the best I have ever seen.I particularly like the first one..it’s got such depth.Beautiful

  25. I also love your photos too, Shimon. It’s interesting that except for one picture (and a pair of feet in another), the rest have no people in it. I can see myself walking down that track (to where?) or happy to sit under that tree with the interesting trunk and doze off or read my book.

    • Actually, I do enjoy photographing people, Mary. But I suppose that sometimes I get carried away by a certain scene, or mood. That picture of the chairs and table in front of the tavern was an example. So very human in my eyes, though the few people in the background were far away and hard to notice. Thank you very much for your comment. Like yourself, I do like reading a book under a tree.

  26. Interesting how we perceive time as fast or slow when it is actually steady – thus outside influences influence our perception of time as anticipation seemingly slows time.

    • It seems that the main influence on the old, relating to time, is mathematics. The older we get, the smaller a year is in relation to our experience of life. I think that is what makes time so fleeting. Though what you say is true too. Anticipation seems to slow it down. Thanks for the comment, Frank.

      • As a friend of mine said, as kids time goes slow because we are anticipating … but as adults, if goes fast because we are focused on completing and moving on to the next task.

  27. Your post just about sums up a life of Reilly. Maybe just on that one particular day but it sounded like a day I’d aspire to. On the subject of water, two friends of ours from a place called Petrie just north of Brisbane, have huge tanks buried at the side of their house to catch the rainwater via a network of guttering and drainpipes, not a single drop is wasted. It’s used for everything including drinking when the local lake Kurwongbah dries up.

    • Hi there Mick. I too have a friend who’s learned to use rainwater efficiently. It’s hard to understand why such technology is ignored these days, especially in those countries where water is scarce. My life is pretty good, but we always tend to notice what we don’t have. And in my case, time seems to fly past faster than I can keep up with it. Still I don’t complain much, and am grateful for what I have. Thanks for coming by. Your comment got caught in the spam protection system…

  28. I envy your life. I am no longer interested in all the plans. I’m interested in seeing the beauty of what is.

    • Believe me, rumpydog. There is no reason to envy anyone. We all face tests. Each of us according to his or her sensitivity, or strength, or awareness. The dog is man’s best friend, and see how he is treated all too often. The lion is the king of the jungle, and he has been put in a cage to be gawked at. The beauty is there for all to see, and too often we gaze upon the nut, frustrated because we haven’t found a way to crack it open yet… Wishing you peace and quiet, and beautiful moments along the way, because we wake up in a strange world, and then all too soon we are dead.

  29. Lovely piece of writing Shimon. That first image is a beauty – I love the early morning light. I’ve just come back from two weeks in Switzerland in the Saas Fee valley. The most extraordinary thing about it was the considerable number of Orthodox Jews in traditional Jewish dress (long black coats and Homburg hats) who were on holiday in the area. A lot of them were from North London. I asked some of them whether they had any connection with the area – the answer was ‘No’, just that word of mouth spread that this was a lovely area to visit. They had good taste.

    • This morning, as I was taking my walk, I saw one of those penguins walking down the street in my neighborhood… studying from a book. I wanted to photograph him. But feared that he would become aware of that, and that it would disturb him. And I had no desire to disturb his studies. Glad you enjoyed the majesty of nature. Thank you for your comment, Andy.

  30. Virgil said –
    ‘Sed fugit interea fugit irreparabile tempus, singula dum capti circumvectamur amore‘
    A nice way of saying ‘Time flies’ 🙂
    As I get older I find the same problem with not having enough hours in the day. Summer always seemed a life time at ten, long at 20 and now fleeting.
    But when one can take such images as you have here in this post and meet friends over a beer, then all is good.

    David.

    • I’ve come to believe that the appreciation of life is a matter of focus… what we choose to focus on… whether we’re looking for excuses, or looking to savor the pleasures of life. All of us have known pain and disappointment. We all started this adventure with a cry on our lips. And most of us know how it is going to end. Truly, all is good if that’s what we’re looking for.

  31. Such an enjoyable post Shimon. ‘Walking’ through Jerusalem with you. Thank you so much for sharing.

  32. What does the last photograph show?

  33. I think Australia could do with trying to find some more solutions for water! Though, what I really loved about this post is the comparison between fast and slow. My life is busy. I have to rush around everywhere, and do everything quickly. I dislike it so much! I miss having a slower pace. And yet, when I want or need to do things quickly I seem so unable. Not the kind of balance I’m looking for 🙂 Nevertheless, things can be accomplished no matter what kind of pace, and I’m certainly looking forward to one day being able to settle and slow down a little. 🙂

    • Unfortunately, most of us try to avoid difficulties until we have no choice, Jess. The same goes for public officials. Once in a while someone comes along who has a vision. But even then, he is usually assaulted by suspicions and criticism, and skeptical comments… and bureaucracy. And we wear them down, those with the vision. But when our backs are against the wall, and all hell is breaking out… there are those sparks of genius that save us sometimes. It’s not something worth wishing for, but it can be a pleasure to see when it happens.

  34. Lovely pics.Lovely ladies talking.Trees,sun,time to relax

  35. t smith knowles

    not sure how I stumbled upon your work..however…I am very glad I did.

    • Thank you Knowles. In this internet virtual world, we bump into many different people, and occasionally we find those with whom we have common interests. Sometimes, as we get to know them better, there are disappointments too. In many ways, each of us is a world in its own right… and there are many aspects that can work or not work for us. But there is not much to lose in these adventures, and it allows us to be more daring. Glad for the opportunity to get to know you too.

  36. I love these snapshots into your day to day life Shimon. Jerusalem looks so very very beautiful, I’d love to visit one day x

    • Glad you liked the photos, Scarlet, and I’m sure you have a lot of traveling ahead of you. So you have a good chance of dropping in one day for a look around with your own eyes. I hope so. xx

  37. Lovely photos, Shimon. The landscape is so similar to here in southern Spain 🙂

  38. I enjoyed your day too. Just my kind of day. I always relish the photographs, of course. I’d like the pub too. Yes, I have no idea where my days go. I never catch up! 🙂 We are running out of time, but it’s a nice walk instead of a frantic rush. I enjoy my days too, Shimon.

    • I’m very glad that you enjoy your days, George. How much better a nice walk than a rush. And thank you for coming along with me on this ‘sample day’. It bothers me though, that I never catch up. Because not so long ago, I did have the schedule very well arranged. I suppose I must accept the decline. Thanks for your comment.

      • I never had a schedule … at least, not one of my own making. I don’t plan or organize. Much to my daughter’s consternation. 🙂 I do whatever strikes my fancy at the moment. You would be very annoyed by my way of life, I think. You have had schedules enough, Shimon. To do nothing is often more productive, I think. What you produced from this day of play is worth a considerable amount of consideration, I think. I would like very much to be there to join you on a walk and a leisurely afternoon at the pub…

        • It could be that your husband handled the schedules. It’s pretty hard to run a business without a lot of organization. But I agree with you. I’ve had enough of that in the past. And now I just try to enjoy life, as much as I can… and a leisurely afternoon at the pub is just my kind of pleasure.

          • I should have said that my personal affairs were a shambles. My business affairs were organized to the penny and the bottom line. Dean was the idea guy, the buyer-seller, the one with the plan. I handled the financing and the details. My office manager and longtime friend balanced the books and kept the trucks running in the right direction. We were an oddball team, but it worked. And it was more fun than not.

            Now, I do what you do. Enjoy life. And that is more fun than not. We are lucky, you and I. A lot of people don’t have such interesting lives. I smile at the mental picture of your days, Shimon.

            • Okay… now the picture makes sense. I had a general manager who worked very well, but for many years I took all the responsibilities for the business on myself. It’s good to be free these days.

  39. Mr. Shimon, Thank you so much for taking us through your day. I like how you start you day so peacefully; talking, walking, reading, and listening to music in the morning sound a very pleasant morning. Beautiful photos, I like the last one especially.
    Btw, your recent posts somehow did not make to my WP Reader.

    • Sorry I didn’t make it to your reader, Amy. These arrangements aren’t perfect, and there seem to be a lot of changes all the time, in WP. Wishing you too, peaceful days, and much enjoyment from your day, from morning till night.

  40. So true … with passing years, the days do seem to pass more quickly. I get far less done than I plan when I awake each day. But somehow I’ve lost that urgency, that feeling that I’ve failed or missed something, been lazy or “wasted” my time. Today my car had to be taken to the mechanic who, like my dentist, found much more than what I originally brought the car in to his shop for. I took the bus home, feeling cranky and irritated by the odd assortment of passengers, which normally would delight me with their eccentricities. The mad woman, twirling around with her dress hem somehow tucked up to her waist and brandishing a battered bouquet of flowers. The obnoxious young man discussing toilet habits on his cell phone. The lady sitting next to me who kep jabbing her purse into my side.

    When I finally got off at my stop with a four block walk home, I suddenly shook myself into another state of mind. Deliberately looking at the sun glancing off the golf course, the luminous green of the leaves brushing my arm as I passed by, the smell of plumeria, the freshness of the warm summer air. So beautiful. So precious. More important than my silly car, the irritating bus ride, the huge bill I would have to cover. Much more important.

    It’s these moments, These precious moment which are the reason for our lives on this planet. Everything else is backdrop.

    It’s a beautiful world, Shimon ….. and you always capture it so well, in your words …. and wonderful photos. Thank you ….

    Nikki

    • Good for you Nikki. I feel much the same way. Nothing is so urgent anymore. I go through the same work myself, taking the car in now and then for a repair. But I usually enjoy taking the bus or the tram. I still get a kick hearing people talk on the phone in public… about all their personal concerns in front of everyone. I loved reading your description, though. Put a wide smile on my face. And your descriptions of the beauty of the day were so sweet. Thank you so much for contributing those beautiful lines to the post. You say it so well.

Leave a Reply

