blood behind stones 12

D2086_862

D2086_879

D2085_794

This is the conclusion of a series on the backstreets and alley ways of my neighborhood. All the photos were taken on Tuesday, May 28, 2013. In our culture, it is believed that the soul of a living being is found in its blood. So the name of the series refers to the human beings that live and work behind the stone walls, and the stone buildings of our city. As I walk through the streets, I am always aware of the people behind the stone. If you wish to see all of the series, you can click on this link:
https://thehumanpicture.wordpress.com/tag/blood-behind-stones/

45 responses to “blood behind stones 12

  1. I’ve really enjoyed having a ‘peep’ at your world. It certainly looks like a very pleasant and peaceful place to live and the people seem happy and contented. You are truly blessed. Thank you for sharing. 🙂

    • I’m glad you enjoyed it, Fatima. Recently, I saw some pictures of local environments of blog writers I read, and enjoyed it so much, that I thought I’d try to give a taste of my neighborhood. I’ve shown much of the city in general, and also other aspects of my local neighborhood. But what I focused on here, are those places that most outsiders don’t see. Thanks for the comment.

  2. Hello old friend. i have bookmarked your series and will peruse at my leisure. Hope your health is great. NZ is wet and cold with snow due in a couple of days. It is hard to believe we actually had our worst drought in 70 years during the last summer.

    • Thanks for coming by, Pete. Good to see you again. Sorry that the weather is so bad down under. We do hear about it occasionally… but it’s hard to picture. News from far away. I hope the dry spell enabled rebuilding and improvements in your beloved city. Wishing you the best.

  3. I have very much enjoyed this series, and especially the love that informs your pictures, Shimon.

    • Glad you enjoyed it, Gillyk. Yes, I am very grateful that I have had the opportunity to live my life with these fine people. Thanks for your comment.

  4. Such a holy series of photographs; thank you, Shimon!

  5. Because you may have forgotten to turnoff the comments, I wanted to say thanks for the series because I appreciate the the views of regular life.

    • No, this time it was intentional, Frank. I got quite a few letters complaining about my policy of turning off comments when I just post some photos… and so, at the end of this series, I figured it was time to leave it open. It’s a pleasure to share. And thanks for your comment.

  6. Great series, Shimon. Your photographs have such humanity and respect to them.

  7. I loved all of the photos in your series, Shimon. Thank you for sharing views of your neighborhood. Also, thanks for explaining the name of the series. I truly wanted to understand what it meant.

    • Very glad that you enjoyed it, Cathy. I was asked about the name of the series. Usually, I feel that a picture speaks for itself, but it seems that the title was a bit obscure for a lot of people. I’m glad I had an opportunity to clear that up.

  8. It has been wonderful seeing the neighborhoods you walk amongst on a daily basis, and the people there.

  9. Hi Shimon,
    I feel as though you have taken us for a stroll through your beloved city. I appreciate the chance to see where you live, and how the people there live their every day lives. Thank you!

    • All the photos were taken one morning, as I took my walk. It was really a random sampling, but I think there are some sights here that only a local would see. Tjanks for your comment, Naomi.

  10. I have really enjoyed these pics Shimon and feel rather bereft now they’ve come to an end.xxxx

  11. Wonderful pictures of daily life, Shimon.

  12. I have thoroughly enjoyed this series, and also like to imagine the people behind the stone walls wherever I travel. Thank you.x

    • So glad you enjoyed this, Janet. Yes, it’s an interesting exercise to try and capture the mentality of people, just by looking at their environment… not necessarily at them. Thanks for the comment. xxx

  13. You have been doing a great set and I love it. Thank you dear Shimon, my beautiful friend, love, nia

    • Thank you for your interest, Nia. I’m glad you liked it. I think about you every day these days, and hope for good news for you and your friends. The birds are singing outside my window. Hoping for songs from your neighborhood too.

  14. I’m so glad you’ve left the comment section open on this one – I’ve truly loved this photo-series. As someone who hasn’t visited Jerusalem, I love seeing images from your town – it’s so lovely to catch just a glimpse of the culture and beauty that fill your streets x

    • And I appreciate your comments, Scarlett. Always good to hear from you. There is so much here, that even if I just concentrated on the streets of Jerusalem, I would always feel I was leaving something out. But since I live here, I can add a picture here and there, and those who follow the blog will get the big picture eventually. Thanks.

  15. I studied the fruit stall. There were two possibilities:

    a) Such care was being taken in setting it up and presenting the fruits. Also, the fruits, as far as I could see them, were of a splendid quality.

    b) The guy at the fruit stall was very carefully selecting and purchasing fruit from the stall. It does look good in the photo. The trolley on wheels pregnant with apples (?) for sale, is a curious sight for me.

    We both commented on the look of the fruit we saw in markets and shops in Israel on our visits, because the pieces were generally, (not absolutely all) not the best. Much was marked and under-sized. We thought this might be because the best fruits were being exported. That said, we did not find that the look of fruit detracted from lovely flavours, far from it. Mediterranean flavours are hard to beat whatever the bounty looks like.

    The people have put the world to rights – they are not animated enough to be in the throes of a vigorous discussion. It’s that, or, they are taking a break in the shade of a tree, to let the heat of the day pass. 🙂

    A very enjoyable set of pictures.

    • People here are not so concerned with the look of fruit, as they are with the taste. I remember my mother saying, when she found a worm hole in an apple, that if the fruit wasn’t good enough for the worm, it wasn’t good for her either. On the other hand, fruit and vegetables used to be very cheap here, as was bread and wine. But because of our international trade, and changes in the economy… food has gotten more expensive over the years. Still, there is so much here, and it is so plentiful, that I can only feel grateful. Thank you very much for your comment, menhir.

  16. I love your mother’s view of fruit produce and nature’s testers, the humble worm. It’s definitely a positive philosopher’s outlook. 🙂

  17. Dear Shimon,

    I really love your description, “the soul of a living being is found in its blood”.
    You’re doing local history for your neighbourhood and the images are really genuine and charming — it’s like being taken down the street with you in the morning. I love the picture of the man buying fruits. I don’t see this kind of vegetable and fruit shop very often here, and most independent sellers are selling their fruits and vegetables in a market stall, not a shop like this. We normally shop at supermarkets as it’s more convenient. The nearest market is quite far away from us.

    Thank you for sharing these wonderful moments with us.

    • Thank you Janet. The supermarkets are very popular here too. But so far, the grocery store has stayed, and there are many people who prefer it, and some who use both. Since I am not a great shopper myself, I couldn’t tell you what are the advantages of each. For quick shopping, I prefer the grocery store. And I have noticed that there is much difference between the different supermarkets.

  18. I love this. It reminds me of my childhood and bi-yearly visits to Israel, makes me very happy and nostalgic.

  19. WordsFallFromMyEyes

    Your streets look really clean, Shimon. That’s wonderful!

    Love the sunshine, the fruiterer, the people. Just lovely for you to capture and deliver via cyberspace 🙂

  20. I have enjoyed this series so much. Thankyou for posting these pictures!

  21. Pingback: My tranquil neighbourhood in Chandler’s Ford | Janet's Notebook

  22. You have brought us an intimate look at something that previously had been very much an idea or a notion, something known, but in no way familiar. Thank you, again, for your perspective, Shimon…for sharing your corner of the world.

    • Yes, it was really an intimate look. And these are places that a tourist would never see. I’m glad you enjoyed it, Scott. It is a great pleasure to learn a bit about your world, and to share some views of mine.

Leave a Reply

