People of the Book

D2088_008
the entrance to the park

Today and yesterday, we’ve been enjoying a first, here in Jerusalem. As some of our local jokers like to say, ‘for the first time in 2000 years’, we’ve had an auto race. A lot of enthusiastic people lined the sidewalks of our fair city, watching some very powerful automobiles, with wild colors and futuristic shapes run circles around our city at top speeds. And from what I’ve heard, no one was disappointed. It was called ‘formula 1’ but I’ve no idea what that is… I’ve never attended such a race in my life, and didn’t go to watch because I had this irrational fear that one of the cars would get out of control, and crash into a throng of spectators. Truthfully, I have mixed feelings about the event. Because in recent years, the traffic in our town has become very slow moving. So much so, that I usually take public transportation when I want to go downtown. And my feeling was that they should improve the traffic conditions for the common citizen before inviting the fastest drivers in the world to race around. But of course, I’m happy that everyone had a good time.

D2088_010

On the other hand, I did visit the ‘Book Fair’, which is an annual event that has been going on for a long time. Book week is celebrated each year, and during that week there are interviews with writers, critics, and literary figures in the papers and the media, and publishers bring their new offerings to the public, and their books are sold at a discount. Many of our local citizens take part in the festivities, and have a very good time. I decided to celebrate the occasion by reading two books; one in Hebrew and one in English. And both of them turned out to be better than I expected. Which made this year’s experience a great pleasure, and one I’ll remember. In fact, I was so impressed by the English author, which I read for the first time, that I bought another book of hers at the book fair, though this time it was translated into Hebrew.

D2088_023

The English author that I’ve started reading just now, is Margaret Atwood. I read a very appealing recommendation on a blog I follow, and decided to try reading one of her books. My first was ‘Robber Bride’, and then I watched an interview with her on youtube, and an address he gave at a convention where the subjects of ebooks and the future of publishing were discussed. Though I agreed with her attitude towards both these subjects, I was amused by one of the points she made. She argued that the form of the book was not so important, and didn’t have to be permanent, that the content of the book that was the essence. And to illustrate her point, she asked the audience if there was anyone who remembered reading from a scroll. For there was a time when books appeared as scrolls. This got a cheerful laugh from the audience. But had she been speaking here in Jerusalem, most of the audience wouldn’t have understood her joke at all, because a large part of the population still reads from a scroll about three times a week.

D2088_039

Books are a very important part of our lives. Not only do we have a very rich and wide variety of our own literature, but we take great pains to translate from all the other languages and cultures of the world. We are a small people, and our language is almost unknown in the world at large. Yet there is a great abundance of translations available here of world literature and history, and studies in almost every area. This includes translations of modern literature and bestsellers as well. All the classics are translated, and even this book I bought by Atwood, was a second, new translation of her book, ‘Cat’s Eye’.

D2088_047

For years and years, I traveled everywhere with a book in my brief case or backpack, and if I ever had to wait for anything… I always pulled out the book that I was currently reading, and was transported to a better world than the one immediately around me. Today that has been replaced by a small 10 inch netbook, which is always with me, and I have a number of books in ebook format which I read on the computer, and find it quite convenient. I’ve had friends tell me that they couldn’t give up the feel of handling a paper book, or the smell of a book. I can understand them, and I still read paper books and have many that are precious to me, but I don’t have that nostalgia for the paper book. It is often easier reading from the computer. And while I haven’t yet bought a device like the Kindle, I have seen them and read from them, and they seem even more comfortable for reading than the computer.

D2088_049

There were times when it looked as if books were going out of fashion in certain circles. Television was seen as a serious competitor. For a while there, it looked as if the youth was no longer so attracted by books. I remember how incredulous it seemed, when I first saw youngsters reading the classics interpreted to the comic book form. And then along came the video, and video libraries… they seemed more attractive to the young than the dusty volumes on the shelves. After that came the computer, and computer games, and the internet. Where did books fit in, we wondered, when compared to all this fascinating material? And yet, more and more volumes are published. And what a pleasure it is to visit the book fair, and to see the many subjects covered by the thousands of books in print, checking out the titles, and the volumes by favorite writers.

D2088_053

The book fair is held at our ‘Liberty Bell Park’, which honors a replica given us by the US of the American Liberty Bell. It’s a beautiful place to visit, not far from the old train station on the south side of central Jerusalem. There are grassy areas, and beautiful trees and playgrounds for children, and during the fair there is free entertainment for the little children, including story telling, songs, and a clown. I still remember, about 25 years ago, when I and a lot of other Jerusalemites, got together in this park to celebrate the American 4th of July, their independence day. And the Americans brought a number of movies of jazz groups. We sat there through the night, and watched the movies on a giant screen outdoors.

D2088_071
putting on a show for the little kids

69 responses to “People of the Book

  1. Seems that it was a wonderful day, I wished to visit there too… To read a book should be the most beautiful and meaningful in human life… I remember in this Gezi Park, young people (protesters for safe the freedom), they turned a public bus as a library and everybody brought books to the park… I have never seen such a protest like that before. Should be a GREAT message to read by government… Sorry dear Shimon, your beautiful photographs and happenings in there, reminded me my days in here… Thank you, have a nice weekend, love, nia

    • My dear Nia, it was a very beautiful day, and this fair lasted a whole week. It is good to celebrate books, no matter in what form they appear. I thank you for telling about the protesters of Gezi Park, and the way they turned a bus into a library. That tells us a lot about who they are, and about the issues there. I think of you every day, and think of the unrest in your country, and hope for a positive outcome. I know how difficult such a situation is.

  2. I don’t know where I’d be without my books. I am now reading through my kindle as it is easier to transport on long journeys than a whole pack of books and it weighs less. Also, I don’t have any more room in my house for more printed books, but I don’t like the idea of getting rid of the ones I already have.

  3. I grew up in New York in a home with the thousands of books that my father had bought and continued to buy. I inherited that tradition, and even as a teenager I spent hours every month in second-hand bookstores, including a Salvation Army thrift store that had a book section in it.

    You can see that I have a thing for “real books,” but I also now live in a digital world, and I’m grateful to be able to read old books online. One great advantage of the Internet is the ability to search for things, including things that you may have no idea even exist, and to find treasures for free in a matter of seconds.

    So call me, like you, a resident of two worlds, and a person of the book.

    • I have to say, that you didn’t surprise me here, Steve. I spotted you as a book person as soon as we met. And I agree with you that there’s no point in hanging on to the nostalgia of books, now that we’ve moved into the digital age. We are somewhat limited here, because Hebrew is so uncommon in the wide world, but I already have quite a few ebooks on my computer. There are so many advantages to them. And I do agree with you as to the treasures available on the net. Thanks very much for your comment.

  4. A joyous day for a stroll, and what a wonderful book fair.

  5. I am pleased to hear that you have listened to some of Margaret Atwoods interviews…you may find some of her writing difficult. It is complex. If you need a break at any point, try reading a true Canadian novel, The Diviners by Margaret Laurence. It is one that has powerfully influenced my life and thought. Your writing today was so interesting, full of great observations of your surroundings and society in general. I loved reading this.

    • I didn’t find Margaret Atwood heard to read. I’m already on the third book by her. But I’m always grateful to get new recommendations. I will try to find the Diviners, though she might be unknown here. Glad you enjoyed the post, Kathleen. Always good to hear from you.

    • I just discovered that not only is the ‘Diviners’ available here, but it has already been translated into Hebrew. I will check it out. Thank you.

  6. I loved your photos of the book fair, Shimon. The colors, the people, the filtered light. And the title of your post reminds me of one of my very favorite books – “The People of the Book,” by Geraldine Brooks. I love historical fiction. This wonderful story is a fictionalized speculation about the creation of the famous Sarajevo Haggadah. Have you read it? If not, you might really enjoy it.

    Like you, I enjoy books in whatever form. Although I must admit, I read more from my Kindle, these days as the library in my home is full and it’s much easier to store my books in “The Cloud.”
    Cathy

    • Thank you very much for your recommendation, Cathy. But since the subject of that particular books is very well known to me, especially the history of many ancient texts, some quite a bit older than the Sarajevo Haggadah, I have less interest in reading an English novel based on that story. Most of my reading is in Hebrew, and when I do read a book in a foreign language, I try to learn something about other cultures, and what’s new these days. I agree with you, there are many advantages to the new ebooks, and I read them too. Thank you very much for your comment.

  7. Sounds like a wonderful time at the Book Fair. I enjoyed seeing your photographs of the event. I am a fan of reading, no matter the format! I also really like the works of Margaret Atwood. My favorites: _The Blind Assassin_ and _The Handmaid’s Tale_. _Cat’s Eye_ is also very good. I haven’t read _Robber Bride_.

    • I really agree with you, Lemony. Doesn’t matter what the format is. Reading is a great pleasure. I’m impressed by Atwood. Right now I’m reading ‘Cat’s Eye’. I hope I’ll continue to like her as much as I have till now. I found Robber Bride a compelling story, though there seems to be certain aspects of life (in all her writings) that she doesn’t really relate to. All the same, it’s very interesting getting to know her.

  8. Just wonderful to stroll through the Book Fair with you, Shimon! Being of Irish descent, I guess we’d be called People of the Word, in the sense that language is keenly experienced as necessary and as art…yesterday was Yeats’ birthday and Bloomsday is Sunday…At any rate, whenever we have a tornado warning, it’s my books I most dearly worry about and would mourn the losing of (after, of course, my 2 and 4-legged loves)…And since I have nothing positive to say about the idiocy of petroleum-wasting auto races, I’ll not comment, but will thank you again for the wonderful photographs and indulgence in bibliophilic bliss.

    Enjoy your journey with Atwood! Peace to your week.

    • Glad you enjoyed the post, Kitty. I remember reading wonderful literature from the Irish in my younger days. As for worrying about books… it’s been some time since I had a thought like that. Nowadays, I worry about them pushing me out of house and home, because there is just too much. So it would be good to move on to the digital, but I still buy both. Fortunately, the great hullabaloo over the auto races seem to have passed, and we’re getting back to normal again. Thanks for your comment.

  9. I think I prefer the book fair to the Formula One race too :-).

    • Yes, there has to be something for everyone. I’ve never gone to a football game, and now we’ve had auto races that I didn’t attend, but I’m happy for those who prefer that sort of cultural activity. What do the French say, long life to the differences.

  10. Yes, I would always choose books over cars!

  11. I’m not able to travel nearly as much as I’d like–and in a lifetime, I couldn’t see everything anyway!–so I really enjoy your pictures.

    • So true, Anne, for all of us. We get a little taste of this world… and there’s a lot we don’t even know exists. Happy that you enjoyed the ‘virtual’ visit. Always good to hear from you.

  12. I think I would have mixed feelings about cars speeding through the city too….why does everything have to go faster and faster….and I would worry about cats, dogs and birds being hit by the cars. And it is such a waste of resources.

    I loved the book fair and could have read on forever …..I’ve never read Margaret Atwood’s books but will certainly give them a go now.

    I Love books and reading, and have always had a few books on the go since I was a child. I am a fan of paper books though and love nothing better than to curl up with one. I haven’t tried the e-books yet……

    How interesting that so many people read scrolls….I find that fascinating!

    A wonderful post….as always!!! And fantastic pictures…..

    I’m really enjoying your blood behind the stones pics, especially of the gardens. I am wondering why you have titled ithe series blood behind the stones?….xxxx

    • Yes, Dina… those were my thoughts in the beginning… worried about cats and folks. The birds here know how to stay out of harm’s way. And the dogs are pampered and cared for by their owners… so I was primarily worried about cats and people who like to do whatever they fancy, and tend to ignore dangers on occasion. But fortunately, it passed without injury. And all concerned seemed delighted by the great waste of energy and money… so I’m happy if they are. As for Margaret Atwood, I do have some reservations about her, but still, I’m enjoying myself. I think it’s worth a try. Glad you liked the ‘stones’ pics. Here, we believe that the soul is in the blood. And so what I’m saying in that series, is that even though the houses and most of the buildings are built of stone, there are people behind them… and they have soul. So good to hear from you. xxx

      • That is good to know….and now you explain that blood is representing the soul of the people it makes perfect sense. Initially I thought it was something to do with people who had lost their lives in the conflict and each pic depicted a scene of death. Doesn’t the imagination run wild?

        My concern for birds and fast cars would be more about the fledglings that don’t yet have their flight feathers and kittens….it’s breeding season here, and possibly the same with you? Glad the event passed without injury.
        I was going to Google Blood behind the stones, so I could see it written in Hebrew, but if you have a moment, could you write it for me so I know it’s authentic?
        xxxx

        • with pleasure, Dina
          דם מאחורי אבנים
          Thank you for your comment. As you no doubt know, the artist often wonders, just how much explaining he needs, thinking that the art itself can express things better than the explanations. And just because of that, I am thankful that you told me of the thought you had… and probably others had too… which was darker than my intention. It gives me something to think about.

  13. Hi Shimon. As a child, my Dad would read to us from the newspaper and the comic section. As soon as I learned to read (age 5) I read and enjoyed the comics as well as other news. Then came studies and learning to read different subjects. When I went to college, I had to take a program in reading as the prof. said I didn’t read well. It only took a couple lectures to show me why, and it was cured. Ever since entering medical school, and for the past 50 years, my reading has been almost totally medicine and science oriented literature. Now, retired, I read you. 😉 And I thoroughly enjoy that. I am still alert enough to have much enjoyment from reading but don’t really need the different authors or subjects as I can choose what I want. Selfish? 🙂
    Thanks for such wonderful posts. I’ve been telling everybody about your blog on creativity. Now…about that spark…..

    • Listening to your account of how you improved your reading in college, I couldn’t help smiling, Bob. Because I had a very similar experience. When I got to college, I was offered an open door to all the facilities. And the one thing I felt I really needed to learn, was how to swim well… because though I’d learned to as a child, I was slow. Afterwards, I could say I learned to swim in college. You make me happy that I am one of your favorite authors. As for the spark… why don’t you tell me exactly how you see that spark, and maybe I could answer it. I’m ready to keep trying. You inspire me to think. Thanks for the comment.

  14. Bliss to have such a book fair, and you’ve captured the absorption of some of the browsers so vividly. Books are a complete pleasure.

    • Yes, I find it a great pleasure, Gill, even though I am connected to books all through the year, this fair gives me an opportunity to catch up on some of the new publications that aren’t exactly in my field of view. And as a social event, it is also a lot of fun.

  15. Now I know what someome on Facebook was
    Referring to when he wrote about the “Frumela One” race in Jerusalem.
    It was probably as bizarre to watch as when the the tight rope walker braved the rope strung between cinamateqie and Mt. Zion in the late 80’s to open the Israel Festival.
    Damn I love that city!

    • No question about it, this was Frumela going as fast as she could. And that’s a good comparison. I remember the tight rope walker event. But they didn’t make that an annual show… I have a feeling the race is going to be back. Thanks, Ted.

  16. There is nothing like a good book to take us away from the present world and explore new territory or new situations. I have always traveled with a book or two in my bag, but now my Kindle does make traveling easier. What else would I do while I am waiting than read a good book…or perhaps write!

    • I have a very little portable computer with a ten inch screen, and that’s what it does for me. I can either write or read one of a number of books I always keep on it, to accompany me in any situation. I am thinking of Kindle now, but the computer takes care of both the possibilities. Thanks for the comment, Bev.

  17. I’m a fan of Margaret Atwood too and I would have loved a browse around your book fair

    • I am sure you would have found it interesting, Dallas. But I have to report that all the books were in Hebrew, which makes it a bit limiting. As for Margaret Atwood, I’m still getting to know her. But so far, I’m getting the impression that she is very aware and sensitive to the subtleties of a woman’s experience in this world, but somewhat limited in her understanding of men.

  18. I’m a great fan of ereaders. I’m one of those people that usually has four or five books going at once and depending on my mood it’s nice to have them ALL in one place and small enough to carry around….in fact I don’t care for turning pages anymore 😉

    • I like e-readers too, which I use on the computer. Now I am considering getting a Kindle, just because it makes it easier to get books in digital format. I will be missing your blog, Linda. I think you would have found it easier if you would have limited yourself to once a week, or once every two weeks. Maybe you’ll still think about it.

  19. When you said you’d been reading an author in English, MA’s name popped into my head before I read who it was. Great post – I love your attitude to books and their various forms.

    • That sounds like fun, guessing where I was going before I got there. And yes, I’ve been enjoying it. Though as I mentioned above, I feel that men don’t get very much depth in her writing.

  20. K.Braithwaite

    There’s one writer you may like who wrote a book called “Silence” and so,e novels I liked a lot.Sara Maitland.She was married and had children but has become a sort of mystic.She’s probably not famous enough to have been translated into Hebrew.I confess I find Margaret Atwood hard to read but another Canadian I like is called,Carol Shields.Canada is now producing more writers and poets.Probably artists too.
    I like paper books because I confess I write in books.. usually at the back; but like you I have some I can read on the computer like Dante’s Inferno…

    • I’ve not yet read a book by Sara Maitland, but I read quite a bit about her after watching a film based on her short story, ‘Far North & Other Dark Tales’. I use an e-reader on my computer, and it allows me to write notes in a book I’m reading. I’ll check our Carol Shields in the library. Thank you, Kathryn.

  21. I enjoyed reading your post, along with the pictures. Some day I’d like to visit Jerusalem. As for computer vs hard copy books, I’m still old fashioned I guess, preferring the touch, smell, art and real live printed pages of the latter.

    • Glad you enjoyed the post, dimlamp. I hope you do find the opportunity to visit our city. I can understand your affection for books. But as I mentioned, I still read from scrolls. But it seems to me that soon, most of the literature we’ll read will be digital. Thank you very much for your comment.

  22. This looks like a fabulous day and I really enjoyed looking at your photos! I much prefer hard copies of books, but I can’t deny that the kindle makes things easier – especially if you’re travelling and want a few books but have minimal luggage space xx

    • I usually travel with more than one book, and since I’ve Started carrying a mini laptop with me everywhere, I have a number of books with me, including references, and life has become much easier. It doesn’t remove hard copies from my life. But it does seem a giant step forward. Thanks for the comment, Scarlet. I’m still laughing about the comments you got on the bike post.

  23. my applause for your statement to the Formula 1 race:
    “…my feeling was that they should improve the traffic conditions for the common citizen before inviting the fastest drivers in the world to race around…”

    • Thank you Frizz. I try to be considerate and empathetic towards those who have different tastes than mine. I’m sure that if they were to see all the books in my house, they would mention that a lot of trees were cut down to make the paper. We’re all different, and what’s important is living together in peace. But when they race around the city, I prefer to sit at home… and read a book.

  24. A lovely day to spend with you and books. It would be a magical week for me, a week celebrating the book! I need to have a book fair in my house as I have stacks and stacks.

    • So glad you liked the post, Susan. Though I have to say that the big advantage of the fair is that I got to see a lot of books that I don’t have (and I too have so many, that it’s hard to deal with them), and some I’d like to read. Thanks for the comment.

  25. Such an uplifting post. I had read somewhere that Formula 1 was in Israel…..I don’t know much about it, but do know that it’s definitely not my cup of tea:)

    I enjoy book fairs, and during the last year or so have come to love my Kindle…especially when travelling. It holds lots of books, is very small and light weight, and I can make the print any size I like. Superb. I also like Margaret Atwood.

    Once again, your photographs show us so much…thank you, Shimon…and also thank you for the ‘Blood Stone’ series, which I have enjoyed. Big hugs for you and Nechame.x

    • I suppose that is the nature of a city, that there are a lot of parallel worlds within the large population. Hearing about your kindle got me interested in getting one. I have been buying ebooks for some time, and reading them on my computer, but recently I realized that some books were hard to get in the ebook format if I didn’t have the device, and right now I seem to be getting close. I’ll let you know of my results. Reading Margaret Atwood has been very interesting. And thank you for your sweet comments. It is always a pleasure to hear from you. xxx

  26. WordsFallFromMyEyes

    “a first in 2000 years” 🙂 Made me laugh. We have a formula 1 grand prix event but I think it was recently given to another country. I’m not into it at all, no.

    Oh, the book fair… just seeing the involvement of the people with the books, it’s why I don’t get into e-books – and like you said, pulling out a book from your briefcase or backpack any time. You just cannot beat leafing through a book proper.

    Enjoyed this, Shimon. & love putting on a show for the kids 🙂

    • I think it might be something that needs getting used to. I had great reservations about the computer, till I started using one. Now it would be difficult to live without them. As for the ebook, the first time I read one, I was sold on them. But because our language is read only by a tiny part of the world population, it will take much longer till we are moved into the ebook revolution. But I think the e-reader is a great advantage, and have no doubt that soon everyone will realize that. I have already ordered a device, even though I already read a lot of books on the laptop. Very pleased that you liked the post, Noeleen. And thanks for your comment.

  27. I’ve been a reader since I learned to read at a very young age. Books to me signifiy knowledge and imagination, a good combination, in fact all you really need. I rarely buy printed books now as I don’t have the space at home, apart from the cost, but I do have an e-book reader, which I find very lightweight to tote when I am in my bed at night, as that’s where I do virtually all book-reading. Some books I have weigh a ton and have made dents in my chest, so I’m glad those days are over! However, sometimes I get books from my local library, where I have a couple of profiles of the types of books I’d like to read and they email me when they have some matches to those profiles.My interests are eclectic, but more often than not I’d go for biographies, histories of events or eras, ancient cultures, differing artists, but, really, anything that takes my fancy, and often many translations. Recently I’ve finished reading some books about heroic Australian women during world wars, a compilation, and one woman’s memoirs of her love of Paris….I certainly could relate to that one as it’s a place I know where I’d feel very at home. As to Formula 1 races, well, they just suck up money and make a loss, at the ratepayers’ expense….keep away from them is my advice!

    • I have the same problem now, of finding space for my books, but I love them. I am moving towards ebooks, but we have fewer of them here in Israel, because Hebrew is limited to such a small readership compared to the big languages like English. I read big books sitting at a table or standing next to a lectern. I know about those that weight a ton. I love libraries, and have all my life, but since the computer I use them less. There is really so much we can enjoy in books. They have truly opened our minds to other world. Thank you very much for your comment. It is a real pleasure getting to know you.

  28. I trailed through the book fair wondering, “is it” or, “isn’t it”. It was only as I neared the end of your thoughts on books, scrolls, and reading, and your stroll around the stalls, I absolutely knew we had been there. We walked around the park itself, met friends there, got off buses at stops near by – the park was our landmark- for walking back to the hotel we stayed in at the time. With friends, we talked of the history at the time of The British Mandate, the outline information on the old station walls, adding formally to what we knew, but, not telling some of the personal and individual histories of the period, that we knew about.

    Margaret Atwood whose thoughts and writings are interesting, is, I have found, a very difficult author to read. I was on a flight once where I saw a woman reading the same title I had. We compared notes. We were both attempting to read the book for the second time, and we were roughly at the same point of the book! It is a pity that speakers, whoever they are, do not think about their honed speeches and talks in relation to where they are. I would have thought that it would not take a great learning curve to know that in Israel, as in any Jewish community around the globe, scrolls are regularly read from. Perhaps I assume too much ?

    Thanks for the post Shimon. 🙂

    • That is a great place to camp out, or to be a focal point if your visiting Jerusalem. Very peaceful most of the time. Many a time, I took a break there… long before it became a venue for fairs and events. I suppose that one of the reasons you find Atwood hard to read is that she goes deep into heartache… but maybe it’s something different. Regarding that speech about the scrolls, she gave it in Canada, and I just saw it on youtube. But she has visited here in Jerusalem, and even so, I don’t suppose that most foreigners know about our continued use of scrolls. In any case, I agreed with her in principle; the ebook is just another stage in the sharing of thoughts by way of writing. Thank you very much for your comment, menhir.

  29. Until a few years ago, I used to purchase sometimes several books a month…my wife and children would comment that I never seemed to get them all read before I bought more…and so many of them remained on the shelves waiting for me, inviting me…. I rationalized my purchases by telling myself that there might come a day when I couldn’t be so free with my money and wouldn’t be able to get the books on a whim…and here I am today with a no longer growing library, but one that still contains volumes and volumes that I haven’t read yet…and they are still there now, waiting for me…inviting me…and I cherish each one. I still love the feel of a book in my hands, the way they look on the shelves and bookcases throughout the house, but I do understand the ease and utility of having many of them downloaded onto a tablet or other electronic reading device…. I see that I am in good company here, Shimon…with you and our other friends, the People of the Book. As always, thank you for the post.

    • I think it’s wonderful, what you did, to buy some books for the future. I’ve been a reader and a student all my life, Scott. And I read many more books than can be found in my house. But I too bought a few books for later, just as you did. And then, all of a sudden, when I felt I was still in the middle of my life, I had a very serious heart attack, and had to spend a couple of months in complete relaxation. It was then that I started reading those books ‘for later’, and it was like a breath of fresh air. Thanks for your comment.

      • Yes, it would be like a breath of fresh air, too…and I imagine it like opening a treasure that we’ve hidden away for another time….

  30. I also love very much the feel of the book in my hands …
    I like to read it several times, viverlo.e emphasize the lapis phrases that strike me.
    The new books are beautiful but I love the ones with the ears, worn and lived!
    And the smell that the paper is great.
    And then one important thing: do not drain the battery!

    In your blog you can breathe a scent so sweet!
    Ciao 🙂
    vento

    • That is a very sweet comment, semprevento. And I agree with you, there are certain books that are like old friends, and old paper that is familiar to the touch. It gives us sensual pleasure… But I have the feeling that they will soon disappear for most people. That they will remain just for a few… like scrolls before them… like candles after the invention of electricity. They are still with us. But not for everyone. Thank you so much for your visit.

  31. Shimon, I heard from someone that somewhere in the world there’s a bookshop selling books by the weight. Sorry to be so vague, but even if untrue, then it seems to me to be prophetic. More often than not, young people have been raised on electronic gadgets and aren’t likely to miss the loss.
    I’m one of those people who, though I have a Kobo loves to keep a hard copy in her handbag. I particularly like visiting second hand bookshops because I’m likely to come across interesting books that are no longer in print.
    I loved your reference to scrolls.

    • Actually, I’ve heard of that… selling books by weight from a couple of my friends. One of them bought some books that way. It’s sad that it has come to that, but in certain areas of literature, there is very little demand anymore, and sometimes they just throw the books into paper recycling bins. I have no doubt that paperbacks are on their way out. Though just how long it’ll take, I don’t know. I too, love to visit used bookstores. But I knew we were heading for some drastic changes when I went to a ‘regular’ bookstore last year and saw a sign, 4 for 100 shekels. To me, it said much more than ‘sale’. Still, I’m happy that young people are reading… even if it’s on the computer or an electronic book. Thanks for your comment, Mary.

Leave a Reply

