living in the city

A171184_15
from ‘a walk in the park’ in Vienna

Met a fellow blogger yesterday, by the name of Yvan, and when looking through his blog, found some very beautiful pictures. I was a bit disappointed that he didn’t use his about page to tell his readers about himself. Would have liked to know which country he came from, for instance. But one picture of some beautiful trees in a park, reminded me of the picture posted above, and the European passion for sculpting trees. Those trees in Vienna weren’t sculpted. But even the way they were trimmed reminds me of the way humans try to impose their sense of order on nature.

D952_24
there’s a longing for nature in the city

Maybe because I’m a city boy, I’ve always been very sensitive to the differences between the country and town. I remember walking down a street in Europe… a long time ago. And all of a sudden it occurred to me, that everything I was seeing was man made. From the house to the street to the house again. The earth was completely covered and hidden. I was thinking, this is the direction that man takes, when he builds his home. He really wishes for his nest to be a total reflection of his own personality… and in doing so, he obliterates nature. I went to the park, and the park too, was a reflection of man… even in that patch of greenery. Of course, this was many years ago. And no doubt, because of all the talk about the environment, there have probably been some changes in the way public places are designed. But still… and even in Jerusalem, which has many more cracks in the pavement than they have in Europe… the malls are a very popular site for recreation. And the environment there is completely disconnected from nature.

D1705_26s
the crow prefers to fly across the street

Perhaps nature is frightening. We hear of tsunamis; of hurricanes like Katrina… of hot spots on the sun. Could it be that we don’t want to find ourselves face to face with the awesome power of nature. We prefer to regard nature with affection. A religious person may be called a ‘God fearing man’, but one who is in tune with the world around him is called a nature lover. Perhaps we would like to think that we have nature in our pocket. Recently, in the hysteria over global warming, we’ve been told that it was all our fault. Our cars, our airplanes, and our refrigerators… they have set the world off balance. And if we were just to live a little more modestly in the rich countries of the world, all would be fine again. How optimistic. But weren’t there ice ages in the past? Weren’t there radical changes in the weather of this planet long before the invention of gas propelled vehicles?

D1706_47s
cat, crossing the street

I am grateful for my home built of stone. I enjoy my heater, which works on a thermostat. And it’s very pleasant for me to have hot and cold running water in the faucet above my sink. I’m not quite sure, how much horse power I have under the hood of my car, but I enjoy getting in, and turning it on by ignition switch, and going to where I wish without exerting very much of my own energy. I am not embarrassed by all of this, nor do I feel guilty. On the contrary, it fills me with respect and admiration for human’s ability and invention. But I don’t get carried away by man’s mastery over nature. I try to remain aware of the true proportions. And I appreciate the fact that there are many reminders, here in Jerusalem, of nature.

57 responses to “living in the city

  1. Shalom Shimon!
    “…if beauty is in the eye of the beholder… then ugliness is too…” – the same about the opposite city vs. country: it is in the eye of the beholder…; I like your photo “cat, crossing the street” very much: what a dignity! And because I saw satisfied CATS in the megalopolis Berlin as well as in the country in Greece, it’s even clearer: beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

    • I have to admit, that I love the country as much as I like the city… in fact, I believe that were I not a Jerusalemite, I would live in the country. But my mother once told me that we can’t dance at two weddings if we have only one behind, so I’ve had to make the choice. Glad you liked the cat. I think we share that, Frizz… the love of cats. Thanks for your comment.

  2. Thanks for your blog, Very interesting. I agree with a lot of what you say, but feel that climate change, being created by humans, and threatening humans needs to be addressed urgently. Though I also agree that I wouldn’t like to give up my home comforts either. It’s a tough one for those of us who live in comfort, and of course that isn’t the majority of the world’s inhabitants.

    • Well, you know, slithygimble, this idea that man is responsible for the climate change is just a theory. And there are some very astute and honored scientists who don’t believe it at all. I suppose it’s like astrology, if it works for someone, then there’s no point in argument. I too wish that all the population of the world would live in comfort. But such changes happen very slowly. I take comfort in the fact that a majority of the population has learned to read and write in the last 200 years. There is progress all the time. Thanks for your comment.

  3. Love your post, as always, Shimon … Love the country, but was forced to live in the city due to personal circumstances …learned to love my part of the city … I never realized about how a neighbourhood sticks together in the city … and we sure stick together in my neighbourhood … PS: love the cat pic … I haven’t let Theo out yet … so he is a condo cat … a happy condo cat … he even has an ID tattoo in his Rt ear … I always shiver when I see tattoos (a remnant of days gone by … jelem, jelem) … but I’m okay with his 🙂

    • Yes, my dear cat… we have to be careful about letting cats venture out in the city. It depends on the cat, and even more so on the city folks… whether they’re compassionate, and respect felines… and how many dogs there are around… and how many cars. Here in Jerusalem there is a lot of respect for cats. Please give my regards to Theo.

  4. I looked around my living room after reading your post and had a bit of a chuckle. I so crave nature that the first things i brought into my apartment after I moved in were plants. And now they’ve taken over my living space. My Boston fern liked its new home so well that it sprouted roots well over six feet long which I finally draped over a lamp stand. I fell asleep on the couch a few days ago and woke to find my face covered with roots which had slipped off the stand. I struggled in surprise and then when i realzied it was just roots, I turned over and went back to sleep in my cocoon of fern fibers, Christmas cacti now extend from my computer desk across my screen until I prop them back up when I have trouble seeing the monitor.. If it were possible, I’d rip out my carpet and install grass.

    But my condo association won’t allow it. I need some rules to keep my sanity. If I had safe running water, hot and cold … and a fridge … I’d live in a jungle!

    • The way you describe it, I’m sorry I can’t drop by for a visit, Nikki. It sounds so good in your living room. I especially love fern, but I’ve only seen it close to running water. It could be that that was what the plant was looking for when it started reaching out across your living room. But they are so beautiful! I am torn. I love the country too, but also love my home town with all my heart. Unfortunately, I don’t have any plants in my living room. When I moved in, I put five of my favorite books on a shelf… and since then, they’ve been fruitful and multiplied, and now all the walls are covered with books But there are some beautiful plants growing in the window, and the glories of animal instincts are well represented by my cat Nechama. Thanks so much for your beautiful comment.

  5. I have often thought like you, Shimon, that to pin global climate change on man and by doing so suggest we could somehow reverse it was, as you put it, optimistic but also incredibly arrogant. We only have to see the terrible devastation in Oaklahoma today to know that we have no power to control what nature has to throw at us. Both beautiful and terrifying, we, like the dinasaurs I believe, are just along for the ride. That ride has been getting quite bumpy in recent years and it’s going to get bumpier yet but I believe, like you, this has little to do with refridgerators and motor cars. Climate change has happened before and it will happen, is happening, again. We should be spending much more time figuring out how to work with that rather than thinking we can reverse it. We see examples of native peoples surviving in some of the harshest environments on earth by working with not against nature. Our modern way of living is such a tiny blip on the timescale of the planet, its impact can be but a blip.
    I enjoyed my time in the city very much but now I’m back in the country, I feel I’m where I belong but then I grew up in the countryside. I think we enjoy what we know.
    As always Shimon, an interesting read.

    • So rightly sad that ‘by working with not against nature’ may be the way forward for human survival. Learning from native tribes who dwell in harmony with nature is something to bear in mind for those who shape our cities, houses and lives.
      However, I think that even though climate change is not principally caused by how we inhabit the earth, the ‘hysteria’ around it isn’t completely pointless. In my opinion, as the writer reflected on his surrounding in this well-written post, everyone should think about their own environment and ways of relating to it. To me that’s what it highlights. Moreover, considering what our basic needs are and what the accessories are there to comfort us.

      Thank you for the stimulating post!

      • Thank you for coming by, and for your comment, RJV. As you probably realize, I am an Israeli. And when Jews started returning to our ancient homeland, a little more than a hundred years ago, most of the country was a desert. Using the advantages of science and technology, we were able to turn much of the desert back to agriculturally viable lands, and today we export foods and flowers to other countries, and have succeeded in feeding a rather dense population. We have also succeeded in turning salt water to drinking water, and using solar energy to produce electric power. It is not just native tribes that know how to survive in difficult circumstances. It would be in the interest of all peoples to try and harness our knowledge for the good of man rather than try to promote guilt about the enjoyment of modern toys.

        • Thanks for thorough response Shimon. I agree with your observations on this matter, and as you put it, there are better ways suggested to encourage people of all nations to use our knowledge for the best, rather than ‘trying to promote guilt’. Although, I suppose the created negative emotional charge reaches more citizens, than reasoning with rational thought. Either way, your point is well-taken
          The numerous examples how technological advances can serve humanity instead of seeking to destruct the world are there to find amongst modern and ancient civilizations likewise.
          On the other hand, what I meant by ‘learning from native tribes’ was that there are very simple solutions already existing amongst these groups, that could be implemented in big cities. Throughout the world natural disasters occur, and we are vulnerable, if we continue trying to reinvent the wheel by relying on our modern way of life, whereby simple and efficient solutions are needed. In some cases, I believe traditional methods can be still of use.

          A good example I can think of is the earthquake resistant Iranian domes that were a long forgotten building technique, re-discovered by Nader Khalili, from which he developed the well-known Sandbag Shelter.

          Here you can find a brief account: http://www.earthbagbuilding.com/projects/sandbagshelters.htm

          • Thank you once again. I followed your link, and found it fascinating. I’m so glad you put it up. It is wonderful to see what they are doing.

    • Yes, we agree, Chillbrook. On all points. It already would have been possible, if we really wanted to, to rid the planet of tyranny, and to enable every human being to eat enough to live in comfort. But we are very selfish and tribally oriented, and on the whole, are unwilling to suffer in order to insure the welfare of others. Of course, there are a few idealists out there… and sometimes they are admired… but they by themselves are unable to change the course of mankind. As you say, it would be in our interest to prepare for the climate change and take advantage of the technology available. This would be much more worthwhile than developing more weapons and rockets to check out whether other planets might have intelligent beings on them. Historically, there have been vast improvements over the years, and I do have some optimism. But the big test will be whether we can deal with nature and survive as an animal form… perhaps better than the dinosaurs survived. But they had a long history on this earth, and we have reason to doubt whether we will survive as long as they did without the threat of climate change. There is much to excite the imagination.

  6. Shimon, I appreciate your post and your pictures, as always. Your posts are intelligent and thought provoking. I agree that there have always been changes and will continue to be. I just wish we would be more kind and less wasteful with our resources, nature and with life, as well as with each other.

    • I understand your concern, Ann, and sympathize. You might find it interesting to read some of the comments on this post. Unfortunately, the rules of human behavior have traditionally been separated into two basic categories: moral issues, and issues regarding the survival of society. What you are talking about are moral issues, and I join you in giving them great importance. But society has been slow to enforce moral issues. It has taken hundred of years for society to outlaw the beating of seals to death in order to use their skins. I would suggest that it is in our advantage to emphasize the positive possibilities of technological solutions to different environmental problems rather than try to denounce or embarrass people who have been desecrating nature. And I say this even though I am extremely dismayed by the abuse of natural resources. Thank you so much for your comment.

  7. You are so right about the ‘asphalt jungle’ or cities. One of the things I love about living in England is the fact that everybody has a garden, often at the front and back of the house, so there are flowers, trees and grass wherever you go, as well as birds, squirrels, mice, hedgehogs, etc. Man should never take nature for granted.
    You talk about the power of natural forces on the day when Oklahoma has been struck by a major tornado. We are very small indeed in the big scheme of things.

    • Yes Fatima, it is a wonderful thing to be able to have a garden, and all the more so to have a vegetable patch and to be able to eat some of your own food that you have raised yourself. I certainly agree with you. And truly, the tragedy in Oklahoma should be a warning to us all. For this happened in one of the most modern of nations, where technology has helped to build a very powerful nation. It is in our interest to join forces and work together as fellow human beings, to improve the living standards and the chances of survival for all of humanity. Thank you so much for your comment.

      • I am hoping that one day not too far in the future humanity will learn to work together and with nature, rather than each other. I fear that many of our problems are down to human greed, as we can all live and be happy with very little. 🙂

  8. Shimon,
    I have lived in large cities as well as smaller towns with more nature around me and I have loved both. I do think there is a path of balance where we humans can make our nests and live with nature, knowing that it will always have the upper hand. Just a risk of life, I guess. I loved your post and your photos today, especial the wonderful composition of the cat pic.
    Cathy

    • I too love both the city and the country, and would like to see a greater integration of man and nature in the city… I hope it will happen someday. But it depends on us… and on the conditions of nature too. Thank you for your comment, Cathy.

  9. I remember living in Nigeria, when the least thing – even getting water – was a struggle, and I can well understand the human desire for the necessities of life to take up less time and energy, to free us up for more creative pursuits. But yes, the created world needs respect and love as well as management.

    • It’s a delicate balance, Gill. I have to tell you that at one stage, I was staying in and out of the way place in the US. In the state of New Mexico. This was almost fifty years ago. But people still went to the well for water. And I was amazed that ‘at this day and age’ etc…. But there was also something very appealing about being close to the earth. Thanks for your comment.

  10. Lovely post and thought provoking too. I live in a place which is essentially a concrete jungle and it gets so hot in summers and recreation is in the form of malls and cinema. Whereas my granny’s place is a smaller town but so beautiful and green and nice. Its not that her town lacks basic/modern amenities but obviously is not as fast as my city.
    But a healthy balance is very important, otherwise what we call development and progress wouldn’t sustain in the long run.

    • I agree with your conclusion, panoramaofthoughts. It seems to me that we have been intoxicated by what we can do to improve our intimate environment… and maybe gone too far. I hope that one day soon we’ll be able to integrate the two important elements of our comfort. Thanks for your comment.

  11. Another thought provoking post; I tend to agree with Chillbrook ‘we are arrogant’ we should be looking at the positive benefits of any warming that nature has for us, after all we could be going into another ice age if my understanding is correct, due to a solar minima. (but then again was that not predicted in the early 70’s ? )
    What would the doom mongers have to berate us all with if it wasn’t global warming 🙂
    David.

    • Yes, David, I think that Chillbrook spoke for many of us. And as a student of history, I have so often seen where man has erred in his expectations… I remember reading an issue of an English periodical which published a special edition in the late 1880s, as the end of the 19th century approached. One article was devoted to the difficulties of transportation in the 20th century, because the horse shit would be piling up on the streets of London faster than the city would be able to clean it up. We have a very limited sense of the future.

  12. I love my home comforts too but nothing rejuvenates me like the walk down the country lane leading to my Dad’s allotment especially after summer rain

    • The idea of the allotment was really wonderful. We have them now in Jerusalem too… and though it doesn’t solve many of the problems of city life, it does give a some people a taste of nature, much needed. Thanks Dallas.

  13. Shalom Shimon. Here the Yvan. So I will tell you a little more about myself. I live in Brussels, a city with a lot of parks and with the metro we can go from the downtown in a 15 min ride to a real big forest that is under control of three communities (only possible in the surrealistic Belgium). Speaking about nature, here everything is only manmade green. The beech trees where introduced by the Austrians in Belgium (1714-1795). The beech is not originally from here. Oaks, birch, willow, … are less impressive but integrated well in our climate. Greetings

    • We too have trees and plants that were introduced from other countries. They’re usually a great pleasure. But recently we have gotten insects and animals that weren’t natural to our country, and they have caused some serious problems. The globe is getting smaller. I have never been in Brussels, but hear it’s a beautiful place. Thank you so much for coming by, and for your comment. It has been very good to meet you, Yyan.

  14. I too appreciate home comforts, electricity, hot water, heating etc but I am concerned how much power and energy is wasted and used without regard for the impact it has on the natural world. We waste so much of everything and live in a disposable society where little is valued, re-used or appreciated. On the most remote shores of the world plastic bags are washing up in droves and the pieces are then fed to chicks by parent birds.

    What causes climate change will be debated for a long time, but I would like to see nations making an effort to use cleaner fuels and energy allowing the air to be less polluted for man and beast alike and reduce the use of pesticides that are killing so many species of birds and insects…..It would be good if forests were allowed to be, with the creatures in them, but they too are declining daily and roads now carve them up isolating many creatures from their food and habitat, like the koala……

    I love to be within nature but have a deep respect for it, it takes no prisoners….I also enjoy the city, but in very small doses I’m afraid, Liverpool is full of homeless people and pigeons in poor health and at night it’s dark side can be seen, but I suppose that is true of most cities, they are a mixture of poverty living side by side with great wealth.

    I seem to be rambling….sorry Shimon, but I wish mankind could allow other species and plants to share the earth…..at the moment we are more like a plaque…..

    I do love that cat crossing the road and the perfect circle it’s tail forms…..smashin!!!! A very interesting post….as always, I expect there shall be lot’s of debate on this subject!xxxx

    • I definitely sympathize with your wish for a cleaner more rational approach to the environment, Dina. There is much to criticize in the affairs and behavior of man, without the need to threaten of dire circumstances in the future. It is also clear that we have benefited from the displacement and in some case the eradication of certain wild animals and micro organisms, insects, etc. Sometimes we become so alienated from the natural balance of nature, that we don’t even recognize the effect we have on our environment… and other times we become sentimental, and mourn the very species that we have eradicated from the world. Here in Israel, we have just recently had a reminder from biblical times, when huge swarms of locusts invaded the southern parts of our country, making their way from Egypt. In the beginning, there was more curiosity than anything else, but after numerous organic farms were completely obliterated, the farmers themselves demanded intensive spraying with the use of airplanes, and the story hasn’t concluded yet. The locusts are completely out of control. Such events remind us of how fragile our existence on the planet can be. So glad you liked the pictures, and I always enjoy your comments, and learning from you. Thanks.

  15. Great post….living on the prairie as I do, I have a great respect for nature and realized a long time ago that to think we can conquer it is simply pure arrogance. I single volcanic eruption can change a lot in a single moment.

    • Yes, I imagine Linda, that not only are you more aware of the limitations of man vs nature… you’re probably much more aware of the many pleasures of nature. I have children and grand children living in the country, and it is always a great pleasure for me to spend some time there. It is a wonderful environment.

  16. This is such an insightful, thought provoking post. I love my home int he city but too enjoy the softness of nature. As long as we, as humans, keep the balance between our man-made things and nature’s blessings we’ll be fine x

    • Your words are a blessing, Scarlet. And I do hope that that is just what will happen. I am an optimist by nature, and I have seen that things do get better most of the time. And cities have only recently become the principal life style for man. We have much to learn. Thanks for your comment.

  17. if anything can bring me back 38 years to make me feel like a 12- year-old boy, it is climbing a tree. there was a wonderful tree in the yard behind my elementary school. friends and i would often climb it about 10am on a fall morning and not come down until about noon. then we’d walk to a nearby store, buy a soda and a small apple pie for a total of 50 cents, then climb back up the tree and enjoy our lunch and maybe not come down again for another hour or so. we didn’t do anything except sit, talk, wonder, dream, and wave to people walking by. i doubt children do things like that anymore, especially not for 50 cents.

    • Thank you so much for your comment, Rich. I have to say that I really envy you as I listen to the way you enjoyed your free time as a boy. My ‘natural environment’ when I was that age, was a complete surrounding of books and scrolls. But afterwards, I fell in love with nature and hiked, and even climbed mountains, though I must admit that I haven’t climbed a tree even once in my life, and here I am… an old man already.

  18. I’m a country girl through and through. Have always lived in the country and even went to a one-room school here with no running water or furnace – just a pot-bellied coal stove. When I look out my window, I see fields of green, horses in their pasture with deer sometimes their companions, and beautiful pine trees and large walnut trees. You can tell I thoroughly enjoy the country and hope I never have to move to the city. Always enjoy those times when you get to step out into nature.

    • Very nice to hear of your environment, Bev. It sounds wonderful. Actually, though I live in the city, I now live in a suburb which is close to the edge of town. And looking out my window, I see a forest, as well as a lot of other houses. So in a way, I have the best of both worlds. But I’ve always had a yearning for the country life. I agree with you, it’s wonderful to step out into nature.

  19. I loved the thoughts you shared here, Shimon. Always it seems to me to be about striking a healthy balance. I love the country but I also enjoy visiting cities to see their beautiful architecture and the many things to experience. Recently, when we vfacationed in Savannah, Georgia, I was delighted to find a city that from it’s origins incorporated many large square parks amid development. Even in the heart of the city there is a feeling of beauty, a chance to enjoy the peacefulness of nature, a wonderful place to read a book or just enjoy the squirrels scampering across the grass. If a tree dies, they replant more, so that development will never have the opportunity to overtake nature. It seems to me they’ve struck a wonderful balance, and I wish more cities here would follow suit. We can live in harmony, it is not necessary to cover over or remove everything natural to make a place for ourselves. I also do not apologize for my use of technology or mechanical conveniences, I also try to be a good caretaker of the earth, not wasting or destroying by carelessness or selfishness. I believe we will be ok! Thank you for including the lovely picture of the cat crossing the street. It appears that cats are an accepted and welcome part of city life there!

    • Actually, I think the most important thing about the city is not the architecture, or the most beautiful sights, but the fact that it is so easy to get things that you need or want. Also, there’s a good chance that you’ll have friends close by. We are lucky that we do have some beautiful parks here in Jerusalem, but it is wonderful to leave the city behind and go out into the country now and then. As you say, it’s very important to keep a good balance. Yes, cats are pretty free and respected here. Thanks for your comment, Josie.

  20. I enjoyed your post. I love the countryside – watching and listening to birds, seeing wildlife, and enjoying the trees – but I also like living in a large city with good transportation so that I can walk to the grocery store or library or train station. Now I live in a smallish city and have most of the benefits of the countryside – lots of trees and birds, some rabbits and squirrels, and the occasional turkey. I miss being able to walk places. When we lived overseas I hardly ever drove, now I rely on the car to get most places.

    • I think that’s what I like most about the city… being able to walk to almost everywhere… and if I need a lift, having the public transportation. Years ago, I would walk an hour, just to avoid getting into a machine of any kind. Nowadays the traffic is so bad, I usually choose to walk just to avoid it. And yes, we have trees and birds… for the small animals, though, we have to find special places. Thanks for your comment, yearstricken.

  21. Great post, Shimon. I miss the country sometimes – we’ll probably move back there in a few years. And then I’ll miss the city.

    • I know what you’re saying, Richard. I love them both too. I used to have a dream of a country shack where I would spend some time in a home away from home… but it never happened. Now I can enjoy the homes of my children who live in the country.

  22. I really like the first picture with the trees that have been trimmed. It’s something I don’t see very often so it’s a bit shocking to see the stark unnatural corners where man has bent nature to his will. In my area we have lots of rabbits that run through the streets, a gentle reminder perhaps that even when you think nature is gone, it’s still there, perhaps sleeping, or hidden in the shadows. Interesting post.

    • I do love rabbits and they are very rare here, though we have other small animals which can be seen at the edge of the city. I mentioned them in the post on the rock badger. And yes, as you say… we may try to build our own ‘human world’, but nature is always there, above and below us for sure, and in many places unseen. Thanks for your comment.

  23. Fantastic post. I’ve been blessed to live in places that still have a fair amount of nature surrounding buildings and whatnot, and I’ve always thought it was an important thing to know about. Although nature can be scary, I honestly think these days that man is scarier.

    • It’s a general rule of human behavior, that the unknown causes the most fear. It could be that you find man scary, because you know him intimately, and know some of the dark sides of our character. Not to speak of the fact that he has risen to a level of control among all the large animals of this planet. But probably, given the choice of meeting a complete stranger and meeting cancer (god forbid), we would choose to meet the stranger. And that’s just one small part of nature. Nature includes forces much greater than we are, and totally out of our control in many cases. It is a temporary illusion to believe that we control nature. Thanks for your comment, SighYuki.

      • 😀 You’re so right! Now that this concept is expanded, it’s time to think about it again! Thanks for your reply! 🙂

  24. Me, I’m a country girl, ‘tho I’ve lived in the city virtually all my life with forays back to the country on off weekends and holidays. Just spent a long few days at the place I call ‘home’, a sleepy hollow of a town called Somers on the Mornington Peninsula — balmy, warm and mild days, no wind, calm waters, beautiful birds everywhere and the occasional dog off-leash on the beach running wild and enjoying the sand and seaweed and digging about — they certainly appreciate being released! I became 100% healed in those few days (I won’t tell you my physical limitations, but let’s say it went away and I didn’t need my walking stick). Back into the city, the grime, the car exhausts, the noise, the coughing, the milling bumping people, yet despite being surrounded by a lush native garden in the apartment complex where I live, I felt no longer a part of this place. I have to get away….

    I love the cat with such a curled tail I’ve never seen before….

    • I too go to the country from time to time, to rejuvenate my spirits. And I think many of us need a bit of both. Your descriptions of the Mornington Peninsula had me ready to step out at a moments notice. But the city, with all its negative sides, also has a lot of beauty. I try to keep focused on the beauty and the pleasures of life… knowing that the negative things will find me anyway. So I don’t have to look for them. Very glad to hear that you were able to put away your walking stick, if just for a while. After a severe heart attack some years back, I was unable to walk without a cane. And I thought that was it… for the rest of my life. But fortunately, things improved beyond my most optimistic hopes, and I now walk everywhere without any aids. That’s what I wish for you, continued health and ever greater strength.

  25. Step to say hello …
    It is very dear to your blog and your work.
    🙂
    vento

Leave a Reply

