Image

mimoonah

D2060_072a

34 responses to “mimoonah

  1. I love this treatment of your photo, of the intensity of the singing and the listening, and the way that’s enhanced with the simplicity of the black and white, the strong lines and those which are just hinted at.

    Please excuse my ignorance, I don’t know what ‘Mimoonah’ means, and google won’t tell me!

    • Hi Gill. Mimoonah is a traditional Jewish holiday that originated in north Africa. It is celebrated on the first day after Passover, and marks the anniversary of the death of our much loved teacher and philosopher Maimonides. It also celebrates the return to the use of bread and bakery which uses yeast. The yeast is prohibited during Passover, and so our entire diet changes for that week. Glad you liked the picture.

  2. The picture looked familiar, and I found the original. Interesting how the treatment brings a different perspective.

    • I can understand why you thought you had found the original. But actually this is just a variant on that one. What you say about the different effect of the processing is quite true. Thanks for the comment, Frank. Glad you liked it.

  3. Interesting treatment, Shimon…the image almost disappears…and Mimoonah is the woman, yes? She is looking very pensive…listening to the music…or maybe not…..

    • Thank you, Scott. The Mimoonah is a holiday celebrated on the first day after Passover, during which we go back to eating bread and cakes made with yeast. And it’s interesting how much you were able to discern from a line picture. The young lady, a granddaughter of mine, seemed concerned with the piano player at least as much as she was with the music. Thanks for the comment.

      • You’re welcome, Shimon…and I don’t know that your granddaughter would enjoy having “Mimoonah” for her name….I guess I didn’t look far enough to discover that it was a holiday…. Thank you for the explanation.

  4. Not sure about the connection between Mimoonah and your picture? Is your grandson singing some songs from the Mimoonah?

    • Yes, Rachel, the picture is an illustration of our celebration… though if the post had an educational purpose, I would have had to show the barbeque, and the beating of drums, and numerous other musical instruments that joined in. I wonder if you celebrate that holiday in the far west…

  5. This is a very interesting picture, and certainly makes me curious. I hope your Passover was a blessed one.

    • Thank you Ann. The Passover, this year, was especially blessed. And I feel that I am recovering from a period of sadness and dejection. Thanks so much for coming by. Good to see you.

  6. What an intriguing picture, I love it.xxxxx

    • Oh, I’m so glad you love it, Dina. Sometimes saying less allows for just as much communication, and this minimalist picture seems to do that…

  7. This really made me smile, Shimon. It reminds me of a graphic style that was used over here to sell Rock related stuff (albums, T-shirts etc) in the 70s.

    • Glad you like it, Richard. I used this technique even before the 70s. It has always been one of the graphic tools of photographers. In fact I used to use it to make slides for scientific presentations, way back before there was a PowerPoint program.

  8. Ha. I guess I have all the same questions as previous responses. My memory fade doesn’t allow me to name that treatment you have done to the image, but I can remember doing several of them the “old fashioned way” with film and special chemicals and enlarger and multi passes. It’s so easy now with a computer it seems almost silly….except I think we prized the old fashioned ones more. Would you care to see mine?

    • You’re right, it’s easier to do darkroom work on the computer. This used to be called ‘line film’, and I used to do all the work myself. Used it for slides, and scientific presentations many years ago. I always enjoy looking at your work. As for the questions on Mimoonah, I did answer that to the previous questions. Always good to hear from you. I think I owe you a letter, but right now I’m just sort of trying to clean up the mess in my work room, and catch up step by step. Best wishes to you, Bob.

  9. Shimon… you appear to have delighted and intrigued us. Striking (mysterious) image.

    • Very glad you like it, Chris. Not so mysterious. It used to be called ‘line film’ in the old days, and I worked with it quite a bit. But now you can do almost everything we used to do, with the help of the computer.

  10. Ah. Realizing that I missed your last post I’ve headed in that direction… I trust it will come together.

    • Actually, the next post fills in a hole. I mentioned a dear friend of mine that had died, and didn’t show a picture of him. Just realized that this morning. The thing is, he appeared in my blog a number of times, years ago…

  11. I like the simplicity of it.

  12. Wonderful! Is this David playing the piano? I remember the photo of him playing with a young girl sitting in the same position. At first, I thought the young woman’s name was “Maimoonah” (the last wife to be taken by the Prophet Mohammad). I see that the spelling is different.

    How did you do this, Shimon?

    • That’s interesting. I didn’t remember that Mohammad’s wife had that name. As I mentioned above, part of the holiday is the remembrance of Maimonides, who was a teacher and philosopher that we still revere. But of course, since all of these names and words are spelled using a different alphabet (both Hebrew and Arabic) it is always a challenge, trying to figure out the right way to spell things in English. Yes, the picture is of David playing the electric piano. Thanks for the comment, George.

  13. I like this image very much.I don’t know what the name is for it….I tried to make your avatar look like this using Artweaver but you just came out in a light purple colour….so I expect it’s something more complex.I am interested in how much you can take away yet still see what is important

  14. It reminds me of an ink drawing. Very nice.

    • Yes, it’s very much like an ink drawing. And I enjoy it, because sometimes keeping to the absolute minimum allows for a more powerful message. Glad you liked it.

  15. I’d never heard of this holiday, and I didn’t find anything about it online with the spelling mimoonah or maimoonah, but I finally located a good article under the spelling mimouna:

    http://torahmusings.com/2011/04/mimouna/

Leave a Reply

