photographers’ get-together

D2037_059
a favorite meeting place

In the old days, I used to get together with my fellow photographers pretty often. It was usually a great pleasure. We were able to discuss different problems we had encountered in work, which tool was best for a particular job… and of course, to share anecdotes related to our craft, which were well understood by our colleagues. Photography was always a popular hobby. But there was a big difference between the experiences of an amateur photographer and a professional. We all knew amateurs who got fantastic results. But they didn’t always know how they did it. They were less concerned with the craft than the professionals. The major difference between professionals and amateurs in our field, was that the amateurs had to learn how to satisfy themselves, but we had to satisfy the customer.

D2037_022
the lion is the symbol of Jerusalem, and I’ll show you a lot more soon

And because the processes of developing and printing were quite difficult back then, Those of us who did ‘in house’ processing were concerned with issues almost unknown to the amateurs. We spent hours in the darkroom, trying to get the exact image that we had envisioned, either before the actual shoot, or while we were behind the camera. And worked with chemicals whose temperature had to be controlled. those chemicals underwent changes in the very process of work, so replenishing chemicals could be a challenge too. I remember conversations over lunch, in which a photographer would bring a print with a problem that he had encountered, and we would exchange ideas and methods till we discovered what needed to be done to overcome the problem.

D2037_036
some downtown streets have become pedestrian only

Our world changed radically when digital photography took the place of analogical. It was easier working on the computer, and there were far fewer tools to master. But there was a lot to learn. Most of the photographers that I knew suffered very serious losses during that period of change. Most of the old equipment became worthless, and we were forced to buy very expensive new tools. Cameras became automated to a degree that we couldn’t dream of 30 or 40 years ago. And many of the jobs we used to do for customers were no longer demanded. Some of my friends left the profession. Others were forced into bankruptcy. And the conversations around the table were often unhappy and pessimistic, as we tried to deal with the changes in our professional lives.

D2037_009
Jaffa street and King George

A friend of mine, an excellent photographer with much experience in dark room processing, left Israel about a decade ago, and was back for a visit this week. We met in a coffee house in the center of Jerusalem; a place that has a long history in our city, and whose customers have ranged from bohemian artists to members of parliament. The shop is getting old too. The original proprietor no longer stands behind the bar, but it has the same old look it always had, and it brought back memories.

D2037_007
the tram has really changed the look of the city

The two of us were both equipped with digital cameras. We had experienced the upheaval in different places. He and his wife live in Canada now. And he’s involved in the artistic side of photography. I saw some of his work, and was impressed. I’m hoping he will send me some small files that I’ll be able to share with my readers. They told me that Jerusalem looks quite different from the way it was when they used to live here. I hadn’t noticed the difference so much. When you’re living in a place, those changes sneak up on you on a day to day basis. The biggest change, it seems to me, was the tram… what we call the ‘light train’ here. But in our conversation I was reminded of all the changes we’ve gone through here… both in our private and professional lives. Suddenly I became very aware of the passage of time.

D2037_056
a gambling stall; I find them fascinating

I took some pictures of the downtown area to show you. Jaffa street used to be the most busy here in town. Always filled with cars and busses, and a lot of people. And since it has been dedicated to the tram, it does seem a rather different thoroughfare. But looking at the low buildings, I had the feeling that we had only seen the beginning of change.

85 responses to “photographers’ get-together

  1. I have been trying to change the link for my name,
    http://catsgrace.wordpress.com/
    I only just commented on last week’s post I love the first lion but I shall have to mediate about the whole article to make a meaningful comment

    • You do change your blog a lot, Kathryn.

      • Thank you.I am moving all my real work to an independent website which I am creating.And teaching my cat algebra is proving tougher than I thought.I may try topology as she is fond of donuts with mouse jam inside.I have to make the jam myself.Anything to get her into Catbridge for a Ph.D.
        She says she wants to go to jail but she means Yale I am sure.

        • It could be that she means jail and not Yale, if she’s heard how many rats there are inside… it might be that she’s attracted to the gaming possibilities… On the other hand, there are some cool cats at Yale too.

          • You have a good point there.Maybe Yale would be cheaper then as she would not need a food allowance.A rat a day would be more than enough..
            As for the cool cats,that’s up to her nowadays

          • I meant she could attend Yale in the daytime and spend her nights in the local jail with those rats you mentioned…maybe I can set up an academic advice centre for cats.College is so expensive now,

  2. Shimon, thank you so much for the traipse down memory lane. Thank you for taking the Goddess and I on that walk and letting us share that memory with you.

  3. Your post has brought back lots of memories for me, along with the reminder of the passage of time. I remember being a little girl, standing in the darkroom with my father, wondering at the (incomprehensible) difference between the soft red light allowed and the forbidden daylight. Why did shining a light on the paper make the picture come out? Why did he have to make so many copies that all looked the same to me? And then growing up and getting my own camera, with film. We changed to digital about the same time that I was getting interested in pursuing painting, so my photos are now just for reference and my husband is carrying a DSLR.

    • In those days, Ruth, a lot of serious amateurs also worked in the darkroom, though their darkroom was a lost simpler than what the professionals used. Your comment has given me the idea that it might be worthwhile to discuss the differences at greater length. Aside from that, there was something magical about watching the image slowly come to be on the paper. Thank you for your comment.

  4. How I remember those old cameras. Remember the learning curve of taking pictures. You have taken us down a memory lane that continues to show the change and the differences we sometimes miss as we are to close to it. Hugs

    • Hi there Free. I see that you too have joined wordpress, and I want to wish you a lot of luck with your new blog. Yes, sometimes we don’t realize the amount of change until something sticks out. Best wishes to you.

  5. Thoughtful reflection…thank you for sharing the memories…and the photos.

  6. I have no illusions about my ability with a camera (and lack thereof), but I can delight in what I enjoy – as I do your photos and accompanying commentary. Thank you.

    • Thank you very much Mimi. Like every other craft, photography is something you have to study in order to be really proficient. But it’s gotten a lot easier in the last decade. And with the help of some of the apps, amateur photography too, can be really interesting and enjoyable without much work.

  7. When I first began photography, I was developing in the darkroom, but didn’t stick with it because of money and lack of a place. When I picked it up again, it was the digital age, but I don’t think anything can take the place of B&W photos from a darkroom.

    • I see it as a different media, Jordan. Just as acrylic is different from painting with oil, or oil is different from work in water colors, so the digital is different from the chemical photography. But I don’t believe that one is really better than the other. There are a lot of advantages to digital photography.

  8. Interesting article even for a non-photographer. The Jerusalem photos were interesting, especially the train.

  9. I enjoyed these photographs of the downtown. I was very interested in your thoughts about the differences between professional and amateur photographers. I can imagine the problems and conversations are quite different. I also enjoyed your thoughts about time and the transition from digital to analog photography. I am someone who has only photographed with a digital camera, and I am fully aware of my lack of education. In fact, in the coming months I am going to have lessons in analog photography and will learn how to develop film in a darkroom. I have long wanted to do that, and am very excited to learn.

    • Hi there Lemony. As you know, I follow your blog, and enjoy much of your photography. I do think that it would be very advantageous for you to learn more about photography, but don’t think it’s so important to learn to develop and process film and papers. The concepts involved in understanding the images are a lot more important than the tools we use. And digital photography allows the photographer to produce really fine images with a lot less work. Moreover, color work on film is quite expensive. What I would suggest is that you learn ‘zone theory’, and study the history of photography. For instance, I think studying the work of Minor White could be a source of real inspiration for you.

      • Thank you, Shimon, for offering this reply and for your kind words. I am very grateful for your suggestions. I spent a wonderful afternoon the other day exploring the work of Minor White, and will request some books through Interlibrary Loan. You were right on the mark in suggesting White; I’m very inspired by what I’ve seen and by his ideas. For my own pleasure, I have been studying the history of Photography for the last year now, and have a stack of books I’m ploughing my way through. My partner is an Art Historian who is very helpful in this regard. While it might not be important to my education to learn to develop and process papers, it is still something I want to do, something I want to experience. I have a curiosity about it that I simply want to satisfy. I am fortunate to have easy access to space and materials and will be able to keep my lessons and experiments fairly affordable.

        • Glad to hear that you are studying the history of photography, Lemony. I’m sure you’ll gain a lot from it. And the history of art can be a great inspiration too. If film is something you want to do, I’m all for it. I loved working in that medium.

  10. I used to live next door to a professional photographer who suffered a great deal when she came into contact with the chemicals necessary to develop her work/art…I imagine she is much happier with digital cameras, but, as you say, other subtleties are lost. I was sad to read of those friends who were forced into bankruptcy or had to leave the profession because of changes in the technology…For me, transitions and transformation require so much more energy and presence than when I was younger. I hope this is because I’m living from a level of greater mindfulness and not just that I’m losing more of my mind! 🙂

    Gentle peace, Shimon, and thank you for the lovely meditation and photographs.

    • A lot of people had problems with the chemicals. I knew a few photographers who had to stay away from that side of the business, and just worked with the camera. Strangely enough, one of the advantages of film photography, was that since we didn’t see the results right away, we had to learn how to produce the exact results we were looking for, which was very important. Today, a lot of photography is done with a hit or miss method, and what doesn’t work is thrown out without really a gain in understanding. And yes, Catherine, transition can be a very enervating process. I knew quite some people who were devastated by the change to digital. Thank you very much for your good wishes and comment.

  11. It can be so great, getting together with other professionals in the same field and swapping stories and ideas and problem-solving together … I always feel that this is the way we humans were always ‘meant’ to operate. When it goes well it can be such a satisfying experience. It’s sad that the advent of the digital age had such a negative effect on so many, but that’s life, I guess … adapt or die. Thanks, Shimon, for this reflection.

    • I agree with you. Much of the work in photography of those days was solitary… sometimes working in the dark for hours… so it was a great pleasure to trade ideas with colleagues. Actually, it usually is good in most fields. On the whole, I think the move from film to digital brought much more good than bad. But few people today, think about the many people who lost their profession and security. Many of my friends had a fortune invested in machinery for which there were no buyers. It was a real disaster. Thanks Gillyk for your comment.

  12. I’m not sure how I would expect Jerusalem to look, perhaps less modern, more antiquated. Naive I’m sure! Looks like a fascinating city nonetheless. Interesting thoughts on photography, too. I have always admired the technical expertise of professionals and those dedicated enough to spend hours in the darkroom. I suppose it is easier now everything is digital. I often think though, that perhaps some of the mystery, some of the magic has disappeared with the darkrooms and the chemicals. And you are right about the difference between amateur and professional. I wonder where the artist fits in, but then even he or she has to consider the audience…

    • It’s true, Emily, A certain magic was lost. But on the whole, the digital revolution offered a lot more than it took away. Art, on the other hand, is a field of endeavor that is supported by grace, and the truly creative artists are as unique as a human being can be unique. There are some who are expert craftsmen, and others who are not that good at the craft, but have a very special intuition. I taught art students for quite a few years, and always recommended that they learn their craft well… because usually it gives more power to the artist. It is no accident that Picasso was so fine at sketching and drawing. But in art, everything is possible.

  13. When you experience a place or see a person day-to-day, it’s far harder to notice the small changes that add up to big change. As an amateur, I am thankful for all that digital photography allows me to do, but I can see it brought huge and often-times unwelcome change to the business of professional photography. As always, I enjoy seeing your world here 🙂

    • Yes, it’s those many minute changes that eventually made for a complete change. And though the change was very difficult for professional photographers, I think that most of us who survived it, really do appreciate the new system. It had made life easier. And in the studio, things haven’t changed that much. The business of using light is much the same as it always was. Thanks for your comment, winsomebella.

  14. I’m looking forward to hearing more about the lions….
    I can imagine how digital camera’s changed everything and how hard this must have been initially.
    Funny, but my sister sent me an email for my birthday, filled with pics of photos of us all growing up which led me to getting the family pics out for daughter.
    I thought then how strange it was that no new pics have been added in years….everything is now on the computer.
    In a way, kids growing up now will have so much video and digital coverage it will be hard to look through it all, we only bought film for special events so are pics are so much more special…..xxxxxx

    • Yes, Dina, we will get to the lions eventually. Talking about the change over to digital has brought a lot of memories back, and I might post more on that. It’s true, that it has also changed the style of looking at pictures… and people take a lot more pictures now that it’s digital and relatively inexpensive. I think it would worth while to organize the very best into folders or slide shows, so they don’t all get lost with time. It would be a shame to lose some of those memories…

  15. orlando gustilo

    If I had another opportunity to visit Israel I would spend more time visiting the places not ordinarily visited by tourists alone, like the Wailing Wall, the Holocaust Museum, King David’s Tomb, the Mount of Olives, etc. I still carry with me descriptions of the city from Amos Oz’s A Tale of Love and Darkness. We stayed in the Mt. Scopus area so at least I saw one of the places so well described by Oz on the cusp of the formation of the modern State of Israel. Tradition and memories go hand in hand to create so much of who we become; they contribute to our image of the world as something we’ve experienced, not always what everyone else sees or experiences. We grow to accept that our experience is not wholly shared by someone else and learn to delight in how others experience the “world.” In a sense this realization is the seed of compassion, of being able to stand and walk in someone else’s shoes.

    • When I was a young man, Orlando, I traveled a lot… I loved the adventure, and loved learning about the world. But I wouldn’t go to the tourist sites… I’d visit the bars, and the libraries, and the parks… and I’d meet people and ask them for their advice about what to see. If we had met on this last trip, I would have enjoyed showing you some of the less traveled places… which I believe offer a different side of my country… well I understand you didn’t have a lot of free time this time… maybe next time…

  16. This was a really enjoyable post Shimon. I was very interested to see your pictures. I was also interested in your thoughts on digital and analogue photography. I have an expensive camera with all sorts of modes which I never use. My camera is always firmly set to M for manual because that’s how I learned to take pictures when I was 13 or 14. My Dad had a light meter and he taught me how to correctly expose a photo, Controlling the exposure trinity that’s ISO (fixed by the speed of your film of course in those days), aperture and shutter speed. I didn’t get the opportunity to learn the art of processing film and I regret that. I have been investigating the possiblity of doing a course that would allow me to learn but wonder if I should worry about such things now but rather concentrate on honing my digital skills.

    • My opinion, Chillbrook, is that it would be much more important for you to learn more about photography with the digital camera, then spending the time and effort and money involved in learning film photography. Your comment has really given me a push to write a little more about photography. Actually using the M is mainly for when you want to make a change in the practical exposure. You would get better results using the automatic exposure, and learning about where you’re measuring the light. You can adjust your camera so that it measures a small spot on the scene, and this will give you more control.

  17. I’ve never experienced the darkroom or what it is like to coax a photo into existence in that respect. Even though I have a huge appreciation for beautiful images, and I savor the fruits of those photographic artists that are able to accomplish this feat, my own explorations into amateur photography are more about blinking an eye than capturing beauty.

    Thank you for sharing the photos that mark the transition of time in your city, and for putting words to the power and mystery of creation, as well as how all shared learning experiences connect us as humans. To be able to confer with a friend, and come away with a bit more insight or knowledge; well, this is a goal worth achieving. Lovely photos.

    • Thank you very much, N. I’m very glad you enjoyed the post. There was some fine magic in working with film in the darkroom, but the digital photography has opened up even more possibilities for the photographer. But I am sometimes reminded of the story of the sorcerers apprentice, who knew how to bring the water but didn’t know how to stop it. Many of the people who use the digital camera, find it so easy, that they don’t really study the images before them, and what comes out of the camera. With all the ease, it is still worth while to study photography (if a person is really interested), and to learn what the challenges are, and what others have done before them. Thank you for your comment. It’s very good to see you.

  18. Love your shots of the city, Shimon. As people have already said – it’s nothing like I thought it would be. I loved reading your post too – I think quite a lot about the effect of the transition from film to digital – I have known a lot of photographers and wonder how it has affected them. Personally, I spent so long trying to wrap my head round the technical aspects of film processing that I never really got much out of it. Digital has opened me up to photography again. Anyway, thanks for such an interesting post!

    • I am very glad to hear that digital made photography more accessible to you, and that you are able to enjoy it more now. I think that is true for a lot of people, and it is quite an advantage. I know that you take the subject seriously, and I would suggest that you try learning more about the history of the subject, visually. A trip to the library could be very educational in that regard. You would probably find some very interesting books on the masters, and what they looked for.. what challenges interested them visually. And since I know you have an interest in B&W photography, I would recommend that you learn a bit on the zone theory. Thank you for your comment, Richard.

  19. I always feel like I am cheating a little when I do some of the fancy digital fixes with my photos. I have only a “point and shoot” camera and know next to nothing about the true art of photography.

    Your photos of the city (and your other subjects in other posts) alway interest me and seem to capture just the right feel to go along with your words. I did not know you had been a photographer by trade but it shows.

    • I am so glad you chose to share with me that feeling you have about cheating when you use the digital fixes, Shoes. I want to tell you that you have absolutely no reason to feel that way. For 150 years before digital, photographers always used to play with the process to improve the images that came through the camera. It was always considered part of the photography, and any improvement was respected till the image was locked on the paper. After all, not just the camera, but the development, and the enlarger were all part of the process. I’m glad you enjoyed the post.

  20. Technology may change, making it easier for everyone to use, but when someone who really sees what he sees, like you, takes a photo, it’s better.

    • I agree with you, Rebecca, but the difference is not so mysterious. There is a great advantage in learning a craft systematically. Photography has become so easy, that a lot of people use a hit or miss system, checking their photos on the screen of the camera immediately after taking them. Were they to learn a little about the craft, and the history of photography, they could take much better pictures. Thank you for your comment.

  21. Good morning Shimon…I have missed reading your posts, and as soon as I began to read this one and enjoying the images, I realise that I need to get back on track.
    It is so true, that when we are in a place all the time, we don’t notice the changes so much, but when we return after a long period…oh my goodness, and in today’s world the changes are happening much more rapidly.
    Professional photographers, have indeed gone through some massive changes, and I think we are just seeing the beginning… On the flip side, I do think that ultimately people will want to experience ‘excellence’ again. We are already beginning to see hints of this in painting and other areas of life.
    I wish you and yours a very healthy and creative 2013. x

    • Always good to see you, Janet… and I’m glad you found your way over… but I know that you’re busy these days, with good things, so I understand if you don’t always have the time to check out this blog. It’s true that some people appreciate excellence, and willing to go to trouble to attain it… but I think that in photography there are some very basic changes, and it will never be what it once was. And by the way, there is excellence in digital photography too. Thank you for your good wishes, and mine to you. I visit your blog religiously (smile).

  22. First of all, thanks for sharing photos of your city. 🙂

    To me, I appreciate the ending because this post wasn’t about photography – but about change – photography was simply the vehicle. Well done!

  23. It’s good to see the changes through someone else’s eyes. We grow so accustomed to the small changes over time, we don’t often recognize how profound the changes are. Thanks for sharing the photos and giving us a glimpse of modern Jerusalem.

    • Glad to share a picture of downtown Jerusalem with you, yearstricken. I often take pictures in the different neighborhoods, but this is where most of the business is transacted. Thanks for your comment.

  24. I am struck by the contrast between the old buildings and the modern tram in the photograph. At least, for the moment, they coexist peacefully. My sense if that change is difficult for societies to manage. I find that to be true in the US where many people long to return to the old days. The transformation of society through technological change is an interesting phenomenon to watch.

    May 2013 be filled with discovery, peace and extended friendships for all of us.

    • You have me smiling, George. I agree, that these buildings are a little old… but they are very young compared to some of the structures you can find in Jerusalem. Some are hundreds of years old, and others are more than a thousand years old. I agree with you… change can be quite hard to deal with. Even when we’re enthusiastic about certain aspects of change, we usually find that there is a price to be paid. Let me sign on to your beautiful wishes for the new year. They sound just right.

  25. Hi Shimon,

    You’re right–change does sneak up on you. My dad was a photographer who used to develop his own pictures. All his photographic equipment, such as the enlarger, became obsolete with the digital and computer age.

    When I came to Seattle, I saw so much growth everywhere. The city had changed, but that’s because so many people were moving to Seattle, I thought. But when I went back to Michigan to visit, I saw that Detroit had also changed. It is just the way of the world.

    Thank you for another thoughtful, interesting post.

    • I hope your dad has gotten used to a digital camera and computer. I’m sure he’ll enjoy it. And he will have an advantage over most people who didn’t work with film. Because he’s learned a lot of the basics. Since I had a commercial lab, there was a lot of very sophisticated machinery, aside from enlargers, and it was really something, having to turn it all around. But fortunately, I survived it, and enjoy the computer these days. What you say about Detroit and Seattle is something I have experienced too. I thought a lot of the changes were just phenomena found here in Jerusalem. And later I found that a lot of the same things were happening all around the world. It’s a pleasure hearing from you, Naomi. Thanks for your comment.

      • My dad died in 1965, and so was gone long before the digital age. I sometimes wonder what he would have thought about it. To be able to download a photograph from camera to Photobucket to blog seems like a minor miracle, especially to one like me, who is so challenged by the technical aspects of life in the computer age.

        • I suppose it would have depended on how old he was when he had to make the change. I remember, when I first realized what the computer was capable of, I told my friends, I just want to retire before it takes over photography. But then the advances moved ever faster, and I was still working when we went digital. Forced to learn, I did learn to love the computer. And now you can see what pleasure I take in other facets of the computer as well.

  26. How wonderful that you had such good frienships and relationships, your words brought to mind the expression “a problem shared is a problem halved”.

    • Yes, it is very good to be able to share with colleagues in the same profession. But I can assure you, that often, a problem shared is a problem solved. My best wishes to you, Claire.

  27. Very true about gradual changes passing by almost unnoticed when you are close to them!

  28. Thanks for giving us a tour of part of Jerusalem. Your photographs are amazing and you are truly a wordsmith.

    • Glad you enjoyed seeing downtown Jerusalem. I often show parts of the city… my neighborhood, where I walk every morning, and other neighborhoods that I’m fond of. But I do love my home town very much, and the downtown area has changed a lot in recent years. Thanks for coming by.

  29. Oh my. I don’t know if I have time to read all the replies/comments to this post Shimon. I just now got sit down to read it for the first time. I wonder why you call it the “light train”. The photos are fascinating. I guess I lucked out in getting to experience the amateur level of darkroom work and printing. And then despite my wife buying me a new Nikon F5…very shortly after, the digital age hit. I actually like the digital better, but I’m sure a lot of it is due to my love of the computer and it’s abilities. Then there’s that “feeling of the beginning of change”. 🙂 Yes, I sure am feeling old now.
    Best regards to you and yours.

    • I don’t really know why they call it the ‘light train’, myself. I suppose it is just to differentiate between the local tram and the intercity train. Everything is relative, though. I agree with you about the digital. Though there were a few advantages to films, I think on the whole, digital is a real blessing. And like yourself, I love the computer. As for the comments, I find them very interesting, and sometimes amusing. It’s sort of like getting together with people in my living room. Through the window, I can see the snow beginning to fall. I always enjoy your visits, Bob.

  30. Always enjoy your photographs and life is definitely full of changes. Recently a friend had sent me an old sepia photograph from the late 1800’s which I was able to enlarge to such detail that I found it amazing. My digital pictures do not seem to have that capability…or is it the photographer? I am a curious person so thought I would ask a professional. Enjoy your day!

    • Very glad that you enjoy the pictures, Gypsy Bev. I was once asked to print some photographs for our local museum, from negatives that were more than a hundred years old, and taken on glass. Those negative were beautiful, and made wonderful prints. The basics of photography didn’t change much in a 150 years! So it was to be expected that there’s be a change one of these days. The quality of modern photography depends both on the equipment and the photographer. If you enjoy photography, it would be worth your while to take a course. Thank you for coming by.

  31. We thought Jaffa Street was a very busy thoroughfare when we visited; the trams were packed with people too. I felt there was a wealth of pictorial life and a wealth of pictures to be had. As an amateur, I could take pleasure in making my pictures of a future memory lane. The multi-cultural nature of life today in many cities and towns in the world with the clear signs of history everywhere, both old and in the making are ripe pickings for anyone with a camera.

    I guess resolving the mystery of the ‘how’ an accidental good picture evolved is great fun; it must be forensic in nature.

    • Yes, Jerusalem is a very colorful and interesting city, and a good place to photograph. Some of the finest photographs of this city that I have ever seen were taken by an Italian photographer who spent some time in our town, after falling in love with a local girl. He wasn’t Jewish, and he used a ‘throw away’ single use camera, which he reloaded with film each time, in the dark room. I will have to write about him one of these days, because he was a great example of what an artist can do, even with the cheapest and simplest tools. Thanks for the comment, menhir.

  32. although i don’t use it, i still have my Canon AE-1 35 mm film camera that is about 30 years old.

    • Yes, Rich, I know what you’re talking about. I have a wonderful camera that’s fifty years old. It’s a field camera that uses negatives that are 4×5 inches in size, and I used it till we moved to digital. Probably the finest camera I ever had. But I never use it anymore.

  33. Shimon, your posts are always so thought-provoking. I love to see old photographs against their newer counterparts – it reminds you that world is in a perpetual state of change. A friend of mine recently bought a vintage camera at an auction; the camera had a roll of film in which she developed to find a whole set of old family photographs. She currently in the process of trying to track down that family to reunite them with their memories! Great post, as always xx

    • Very glad you enjoyed the post, Scarlet. How nice for you that you’re young and enjoy the perpetual change. For me, it means displacing my spectacles, and forgetting that I made some setting on my camera last night that are no longer relevant this morning…but on the other hand, I enjoy watching the enthusiasm of youth. Always good to hear from you.

  34. Excellent post Shimon and thanks for these images…brings back memories. I was in Israel 2 summers ago and spent a week in Jerusalem. How new is the tram? I didn’t see it when I was there?

    • They worked on this train for about ten years, Edith. And we suffered through it. Last year it started running… maybe it’s a little less than a year. We still suffer… but now it’s a little different. How nice that you were able to spend some time in our city. I hope you enjoyed it.

  35. Interesting read about Jerusalem and a bit of photography history. Thanks.

  36. I’ve enjoyed looking at these scenes of Jerusalem. The area you’ve shown us has a most congenial atmosphere, or at least that’s what I’m picking up. That ‘train’….wow! We have light rail here too, but not a train (we call them trams) as long as that one.

    I got into the darkroom when I was in photography school all those years ago. I’d leave out some of my b+w prints on the dining room table to dry after an almost all-night session (I was in a share house) and was always interested in the running commentary on them by my fellow sharers. They thought some of those images were quite good! LOL. Technically, I never got it right with the b+w as I didn’t have the time (I was in full-time work and this was a part-time course) and that year was the last I was in a wet darkroom. Digital is my thing now….I am an amateur, by your description.

    • Yes, I do think that Jerusalem is very congenial. I’ve traveled a good part of this world, and found cities that were bigger, and others that were more beautiful, but I have a love for my home town that makes me very happy to live here. I loved working with film, and developed my own black and white and color. But I find it very pleasant to work in digital too… and I’ve more or less given up working with film. Thanks for coming by, janina.

  37. I look forward to each of your posts. Your writing and insights in human nature are first rate. While researching material for my memoir I learned that my birth mother was Jewish. Your writings on Jerusalem have an entirely new meaning to me.

    • Thank you for your kind words, and thank you even more for sharing this discovery with me. What an amazing thing to learn at this stage in life… so here we are, worlds apart… and connected.

Leave a Reply

