happiness and spirituality

Probably, like a lot of other people, I have been meeting a much wider variety of human beings since I started reading blogs on the internet. And I have always been quite open to the possibilities of meeting people who were different than myself. I used to talk to people I met on the street. And I would pick up hitch hikers. And would meet people in my travels, and people in taverns. My home away from home, when I was young, was in libraries. But you don’t meet that many people in libraries, because silence is strictly enforced. Not to speak of the fact that people are usually very involved with the books they are reading or studying. But as I say, I used to get around, and I would meet a lot of people.

Arc357_099
this stamp celebrates love

Most of them were not anything like me. And I found that quite interesting. I learned from so many people I met. Sometimes it seemed to me, that every person I’d meet, would open up a new aspect of this world for me. Very often, I would meet people who believed in different things that I didn’t believe in. I would meet people who were cruel to animals, or who had little respect for cleanliness or who were racists or misogynists. Now, I could have kept my distance from people who had different values than mine, or who did things I did not approve of. But I started out young, trying to understand what this world was about, and I decided to be very open minded; to listen to what others had to say, and then to decide for myself. What worked for me, was to look for the good in people, and not to spend too much time on those things that didn’t attract me. I was too young and too inexperienced to be a teacher to others. I figured that what mattered, was the good that I could find.

Arc357_097
a butterfly on a stamp

It’s the same as when you go looking for new food that you don’t know. Why pick up a nut, and break your teeth on the shell, or struggle with it, trying to eat it like a peach? Best to watch how others eat it; discard the shell, and enjoy the meat inside. If someone offers you fish, why waste your time checking how sharp or stiff the bones are? Discard the bones, and eat the fish. So, I applied this attitude to getting to know people too.

Arc357_096
the flag of Israel in honor of independence day

This week, I read two blogs that interested me especially. They are not blogs I read for fun. When I’m just looking to enjoy myself, I like a good story… or amusement. I like to smile as I read. I’m always interested in seeing an interesting image. But it’s wearying for me to see one peak image after another. I know some bloggers who’ll knock you off your feet with what they’ve photographed. But after being knocked over twice or three times… I get kind of achy. My behind hurts… or my knees. And it’s hard getting up off the floor a lot… especially at my age. You can get tired that way, and just want to sit on the couch, and drink a cup of tea. So even when it comes to images, I like a good story.

Arc357_095
another butterfly

But these two blogs that I read… they are the blogs of two women who have gone through some difficulties in life. One of them has described the hell she’s seen. And the other doesn’t talk about it. But you know, I get the feeling… One of them, Genie is her name, wrote about happiness. What I liked about her post, is that she didn’t tell others how to attain happiness. She wasn’t telling me what to do. She was just describing what makes her happy. And I can tell you, that when you read a lot of blogs, you run into a lot more people telling you what makes them unhappy, than you do a blogger telling you what makes him or her happy. So that is the sort of post I find interesting. She had a list of 15 paths to happiness. Number one was: “Do random acts of kindness”. Now this is not for me. I will confess to you, that just doing part of the acts of kindness that I feel called upon to do in my life is a challenge that I haven’t met with great success. Usually, by the end of my day, I feel that I haven’t managed to do even a fourth of what I planned to do… and occasionally, I don’t even get to one part in twenty. So I’m not going to go looking for random acts of anything. And the list goes on to mention other things that would not bring me much happiness. I’m sure. But it did have three suggestions that I could completely agree with, and I want to share them with you.

12. Respect everyone even those folks you do not understand.
I would agree with this, and I think this is the proper way to live. Giving respect to others is not a sacrifice on our part. We lose nothing by doing this. And the advantages are great. Foremost, the other person will be more willing to find a bridge between the two of you, and to cooperate with you.

13. Get plenty of sleep
Now everyone needs a different amount of sleep. There are those who need very little sleep per day, and others who feel completely rested only if they sleep ten hours a day. I slept five hours a day most of my life. But my father slept ten hours. And he had no fewer accomplishments than I have. What’s important, is that you get enough. I don’t use an alarm clock. And I’ve found that when you’re well rested, you won’t want to be lying around in bed. You’ll want to get up and start doing things… happily!

15. Know that happiness comes from within – no one or no material good can make you happy
This was the last thing on the list. And I thought it was the most important. We often fixate on some goal, or some material possession that we think will make us happy. This is partially due to all the propaganda we listen to by commercial interests. The truth is what Genie suggests, that happiness has to come from within ourselves, when we are whole with ourselves, and in harmony with the world.

Arc357_094
a picture of Martin Buber, found on a small package of sugar in a coffee house. He was a writer and a philosopher, with a great interest in Jewish mysticism

I think I’ve written enough here. I’m including some stamps I’ve noticed lately, and a little parcel of sugar I found in a coffee house. I will post the second part on this subject soon. And then I’ll tell you of my reaction to the question, how can we find spirituality… or god? We’ll discuss that in a few days… and meantime, let’s see how happy we can be.

62 responses to “happiness and spirituality

  1. Dear Shimon, I was just thinking the same thing about the wide spectrum of people I have met since I started blogging. Life stories told this time through the written form is no less instrumental in knowing a person than meeting face to face – in fact sometimes I think we get a deeper glimpse into the person through his writings than the spoken word. And sometimes some of these people whom we meet make us want to be better, more genuine human beings. And so, I am very glad to have met you. I hope you have received my reply. I can’t wait to read your thoughts on finding God. It’s funny you mentioned happiness because I was just reading this. “Happiness is when what you think, what you say and what you do is in harmony.” Gandhi. Wishing you happy days. Sharon

    • I agree with you, Sharon, that often the exchanges of written messages can go deeper than face to face conversation… and definitely more so than phone calls. Face to face is very meaningful, because we broadcast a lot of emotion and communication in our faces. On the other hand, sometimes in casual conversation, we tend to reflect the other, which can obscure our true feelings. I am very glad to have met you too. I did receive your mail, and you will hear from me soon. I love the quote by Gandhi, and wish you a very nice vacation.

  2. This post beautifully states the belief system of the many who see and seek goodness in humanity. Goodness is not limited to a nationality, a religion, a language, a region, … it has no limits.

    I’ve always felt that good people need to stick together – thus why I also believe that the most important decision in life is who one decides with whom to associate. … So thank you for being one of the many good people I’ve encountered though blogs.

    • Thank you for your kind words, Frank. I agree with you on all points. Though sometimes it is hard to understand or to be understood when dealing with people of a different culture; something I myself have encountered. And sometimes, good people have different views of what is right and wrong. Thanks again for your comment.

  3. It seems a life dedicated to opening your mind, and perhaps your heart as well, has made you very wise, Shimon. Thank you. I had a professor I loved, and he once told us about an encounter he’d had early one morning, years earlier…he had begun his day in a light and grateful mood, and then encountered someone who negated the day and all it offered completely, rebuffed his greeting, complained of this or that. For whatever reason, this latter fellow faced the day and his life unhappily. I believe my professor was a young man at this time…at any rate, this was the encounter that changed his life. He realized, then and there, that he could either allow this other man’s energy to depress his own, or he could make the choice to retain his own joyful framework and perspective. He chose the latter. He was quite elderly when he became my teacher, but he was known, utterly, for his positive outlook, and never surrendered it in the time I knew him. He had a marvelous sense of humor, volunteered for many causes, cared deeply about his students, family, and work, and lived from an inner core of joy. I still have days when I brood more than I remain open to joy, and Professor Stillman’s (glorious name) story and spirit remain a great blessing to me. Happiness is a choice.

    • Thank you very much, Catherine, for telling me this story of your teacher, Prof Stillman. I am most grateful for the teachers I’ve had in life. David says in the psalms, ‘I have learned from all those who’ve offered to teach me’. There are those who say, ‘ignorance is bliss’, and there is something to that. But to one who wants to understand the world around him, there is happiness in that too. And what is most important in your comment, is your bottom line, Happiness is a choice. I wish you great happiness, and health, and ever growing awareness.

  4. My grandmother used to say that “cada cabeza es un mundo”, every head is a world, or each person is a world. So true of what one sees in the various blogs. We are all so different and it is interesting to learn from each. I look forward to the discussions on how to find spirituality or god.
    Until then.

    • In our culture, we say the same thing that your grandmother taught you, Angeline. And that is truly a key to understanding people. I too, look forward to the next part of the discussion. Thank you very much for your comment.

  5. Beautiful write up and beautiful stamps, Shimon … I especially like the heart stamp … just put the same symbol into my blog and in a way the same theme … Lovely. Have a good w/e (Canada Day Long W/E for us here). Greetings, cat.

    • Thank you very much, Cat. I saw the heart on your new blog… but you know, the captcha business, and having to prove I’m not a robot and so on, makes it difficult leaving a comment. Thanks for your comment, and best wishes to you for your long weekend.

  6. “in the meantime, let’s see how happy we can be”

    *Shaking head, either in amusement, or contemplation*

    As with all good teachers, sometimes I think you speak in riddles, and we are left trying to use our magical decoder ring to get to the center of your intentions. You are a human who has an uncanny knack for speaking simply, and in doing so, you weave a thought that is incredibly complex; one which is overflowing with many layers, and yet, is acutely straight-forward and direct. I can’t help it that I derive a particular form of pleasure from being able to see your words, and feel as if I have connected a few dots, and then, as a bonus, I can actually take this information and apply it directly, and immediately, to how I navigate through my day.

    Happy?

    If there is one thing in my life that has been inconsistent, or missing, or even absent altogether, it might be that I have often had difficulty in identifying and experiencing Happy. Yes, I’m getting better at this acquired skill, and I’m learning how to choose Happy over other options, but clearly I still have plenty of room for improvement when it comes to knowing Happy.

    I wasn’t expecting, that in answering a question about spirituality or god, that we might have to take a detour through Happy. It is precisely for that reason, (the unexpected, and yet logical course of action), that I keep coming back to your blog again and again. You keep reminding me that sometimes what we are looking for isn’t buried under the weight of tons of pain or exhaustingly difficult hard work and struggle, but rather, perhaps, it is possible it is to be found in the place that is the easiest, and most accessible place of all … the place where Happy and Joy are alive.

    Thank you, again, ShimonZ, for sharing a bit of yourself, and for taking the time to show that you care. You could just as easily turn away. Your curiosity and interest are matched by my own. I want to know. Therein, I see, is part of the problem. The wanting sometimes overshadows the knowing part of that equation. Today, let’s just see how happy we can be.

    Brilliantly simple. As always.

    • I am so glad that you noticed this post and commented, N. The fact is, that you were one of the two women I was talking about, and the next post, with the discussion on looking for spiritualism and god will be in your honor.

      You are right. I do sometimes speak in riddles, and tell parables, so that the student has to be active to discover what is important in the story. And that is because each person can only discover what he is ready to understand. If I were to put all of the story on the table, for all to see, people would get bored and walk away. That is one of the mysteries of learning. And your pleasure is my pleasure. I consider you an accomplished student. I can well understand your difficulty with happiness. I myself had a very unhappy childhood. It was through my studies, and thanks to my wonderful teachers, that I realized the importance of happiness, and that ultimately it is our own choice. I consider ‘choice’ to be the most noble of man’s attributes. Once we realize that it is in our own hands, one can work towards that. It isn’t easy, and it takes a while to learn how to control something like that, but I can assure you that it is possible. And even then, there is a time for everything. We don’t want to banish unhappiness either. But to do it well. We want to experience the unhappiness ‘all the way’, and then go on to happiness. The other characteristic that I value almost as much, is focus. Often, we have too much going on in our minds. And we find it hard to focus on any one specific things.

      It was commenting on your Sunday Special that inspired me to write about these subjects, and I hope I will not disappoint you with the next part. I look forward to our continued discussion.

  7. It is interesting Shimon, reading blogs sent from places where extreme poverty is a way of life, how much happier the people seem to be. How they have such respect for community and will happily invite strangers to share some of what little they have.
    If happiness had anything to do with material wealth, in the west, we would all be living a joyous existence. Instead, when I go out and I smile at strangers, I’m ignored or worse, people are rude, they are discourteous, they chose to take offence at all things and greed, the pursuit of yet more things, is more voracious than ever, particularly among those that have the most. The idea of sharing a little of what you have with anybody, unless it’s tax deductible of course, is laughable.
    I enjoyed this post very much. You’ve managed to get me thinking which is always welcome. I will look forward to part two very much. The images with this post are lovely. Stamps are fascinating. I’ve never been a collector but I can see the attraction.

    • When I was a young man, here in Jerusalem, people did not have refrigerators in their homes. They didn’t have cars. Most people used public transportation. There was one radio in a house; no TV, and most of the luxuries we take for granted now were unknown. And strangely enough, people were happier. Today, I read the news, and I am constantly being told about growing poverty. But all of that is relative. People who envy others, are unhappy… and poor as well. Our sages say, ‘who is a rich man? A man who is satisfied with what he has’. This problem is not just personal. It is a problem of society. Commercial interests are constantly fanning avarice in our hearts. And what we have to do, is to present the other side of the picture to our friends, our children, and our students. I think you’ve brought up one of the most crucial problems of our time. And I do hope that together, people of like mind, will be able to move us back to amore rational understanding of what really matters in our lives.

  8. “Usually, by the end of my day, I feel that I haven’t managed to do even a fourth of what I planned to do…”
    Like my friend recently wrote me: “Always planning, always planning, planning to switch to the new 48 hour day when it is brought in.”

    Regarding #13: I would love to live without an alarm clock, but then I would probably be late for slavery/work during the weekdays.

    • When I was younger, I was an exceptionally strong man, and could work very quickly. As I grew older, I grew slower, but I still tend to plan work according to my abilities in the past… and then don’t manage to do as much as I have planned. I hope I will soon learn to be more realistic. But I can assure you that we lose nothing by sleeping as much as our body needs. For afterwards we have such greater strength, that we can really accomplish more that what we can when we are deprived of sleep. Thank you so much for dropping by, Cardinal. Always glad to hear your comments.

  9. J. Randall Stewart

    Appreciate your approach to people. It’s refreshing. It seems the willingness to tolerate others differences grows less and less, and the desire to only engage those who affirm our own beliefs is strong in all of us. I’ve had a week being challenged by some individuals who are almost on the opposite extreme of myself in some important areas, but I’ve been so refreshed by the experience. Only hearing what we already know and believe can make us dull, in mind and in spirit. Having someone point a finger in our face and tell us we’re wrong can be very jolting, but there’s nothing like a good jolt to yank us out of the mud of complacency and mental laziness.

    Good thoughts.

    J a s o n

    • Hi Jason. You know, some people see tolerance as an act of graciousness towards others. And this can actually trip us up. You and I realize that we gain the greatest advantage from being open to others. I like to see people converse pleasantly, without pointing a finger at one another, but I certainly agree with you, that being open to others is a sign of strength, and it affords us the possibility of being conscious of the world around us. Thank you very much for coming by, and commenting.

  10. Afternoon Shimon, I’m smiling reading your post! The telling of a good story is an art or maybe a gift, I don’t know but I do know you can tell a good story. I often read blogs that list things as you describe and I find myself glossing over them not really reading at all, maybe that’s because they are exhorting me to do things their way, and I can get a bit stubborn! For no though I’ll focus on the respect angle of your post as I’m a firm believer in it, we can’t function as a world without it. Thank you again!

    • I want you to know, Claire, how happy it makes me to think of you smiling as you read my post. For me, that is success. And thank you for your kind words. It’s a bit of a problem talking about values on a blog. For we don’t know all our readers, and we don’t know what they already know, and what they’ve already experienced. And so that takes us back to respect. We can communicate better, if we remember we are talking to our friends. Thank you so much for your comment.

  11. If you really try hard, no matter how bad things get, you can find a way to if not be happy, at least not be miserable. You have look for good stuff … Bad stuff is obvious, good isn’t so easy to see, but it’s always there. Somewhere. A whisper, not a shout.

    • Actually, Marilyn, it is much easier to find what we’re looking for. If we have expectations… if we have a preconceived notion, that things are bad, we will find a lot of support for this view. But if we say to ourselves, yes, I know, there is a lot of bad in this world… but what interests me is the good, we’ll find a lot more good. When panning for gold, we don’t count all the rocks in the pan. We just look for the stuff that glitters. That is the key to the search. Thank you very much for your comment.

  12. I enjoyed reading your post and then the discussions that follow. I find that when I am engaged with another person or with nature or with some interesting work – the times I am not looking for happiness – those are are the times happiness finds me.

    • Oh, you’re so right, yearstricken. When we are doing what we love, and absorbed by it, happiness chases after us. That is indeed, happiness with a kiss.

  13. I arrived here after seeing your comment on another post, and I am very pleased with what I find. I am older too, and much appreciate people who seek to find the good in others and to be open to what others have to share. We are all different in many ways, yet in some ways we are all the same and can learn from each other. I love the world-wide family that the Internet and blogging have made possible. I will be back to read again!

    • Though I don’t know which comment that was, Josie, I’m so glad I made it. I have since, discovered your blog, and I love it. It is a pleasure reading your thoughts and your stories, and I plan to continue to do so. It’s true, there are many pleasurable surprises in browsing the internet, and in discovering other bloggers from all over the world. Thank you very much for coming by.

  14. What a great post, Shimon!

    I have to tell you that I just loved your lines, “It’s the same as when you go looking for new food that you don’t know . . . Best to watch how others eat it.” And, “Giving respect to others is not a sacrifice on our part. We lose nothing by doing this. And the advantages are great.” What great—and beautifully simple—advice!

    I look forward to your next post! —George

    • Thank you very much, George. I am so glad you enjoyed the post, and am hoping I won’t disappoint you in the next part. Very happy you came by.

  15. WordsFallFromMyEyes

    I agree, ShimonZ, having met a whole lot of people via the ‘net. I haven’t met them in person but I’ve learned of their lives & I am just amazed to be in touch with people so far away. It’s pretty precious, really.

    This is a great post, ShimonZ. You seem to be a human being to look up to – you are thinking, feeling, and you accept changes.

    • I agree with you completely, Noeleen. The internet has opened us up to the community of all people, and it is so much easier to find like minds, and like interests. I learn something new every day, and meet wonderful people. Very glad you came by. And thank you very much for your comment.

  16. Ah, but who is Po and who is Grasshopper? 😉

  17. I am honored that my blog is one that is making a positive impression upon you. I listed my steps to Happiness not in order of importance, but in order that I found them. I also thinking you are doing random acts of kindness without realizing it. I plan to blog in more detail about each step in the future.
    Blessings,
    Genie

    • I’m very glad you found this post, Genie… and yes, I have great respect for you, in that you choose the positive, and search for the good in your life, and in this way, I think we have shared goals. And if you see me doing random acts of kindness, far be it from me to argue with you, though you may give me more credit than I deserve. I look forward to reading about your steps in greater detail. Thank you so much for commenting.

  18. Pingback: Sundae Sessions-070112 « Invisible Shadow

  19. Such an insightful post, Shimon. So open-minded and gentle. I wish there were more people like you in the world. Loved the stamp photos & Martin Buber, too!

    • Thank you very much for your kind words, Susan. You have to remember that the human personality has many aspects, and it is very likely that if you were to get to know me better, you might find that certain of my aspects were insufferable. I remember that when I was teaching, even those students who loved me very much, feared me a little. I don’t know if it’s worth wishing for more of me.

  20. Thank you, Shimon…gentle reminders….

  21. Interesting post, ShimonZ. I like personal thoughts and writings, and the same goes for pictures. Something personal, to learn from or to be inspired. Like this post.

  22. I was referring to the Chinese Shaolin Master’s exchange with the young student on awareness. Which face of the Who is our reality? Master Po or Grasshopper… Contentment requires awareness of self and the ability to listen for the sound of one hand clapping.

    Master Po: Close your eyes. What do you hear?
    Young Grasshopper: I hear the water, I hear the birds.
    Po: Do you hear your own heartbeat?
    Grasshopper: No.
    Po: Do you hear the grasshopper which is at your feet?
    Grasshopper: Old man, how is it that you hear these things?
    Po: Young man, how is it that you do not?

    What did you teach, Shimon?

    • Thank you very much, George, for sharing with us this beautiful story, which fits in so well with the post. You’ve added something really charming and precious to the post itself. I taught graphic communication, art, and talmudic ethics.

  23. I have missed this dialogue because we’ve been without power for the last four days and counting…My mother used to say “man plans, and G-d laughs”…I have hopes for my day, with the understanding that some control I must cede. I watched my mother struggle with joy – as a Holocaust survivor, she couldn’t reconcile her guilt with the gift of her life. My father gave her permission in the mysterious ways that couples can, and when he died, she followed shortly thereafter. The greatest joys for me are still in the most simple things (though I am guilty of enjoying creature comforts like air-conditioning) – making someone laugh all over, trying to count fireflies in the backyard, hugging my children (inestimable joy and gratitude that these young men abide their mothers need to hug them a lot), a dance with my husband (though he is a lousy dancer), helping another person. Simple joy..

    • Yes, Mimi. I’ve been reading about your experience without the power that we’ve learned to take for granted. I’ve had similar experiences, and actually enjoyed them… though not for four days! I know the quote, “man plans, and G-d laughs”, and think it wonderful. The story you tell about your mother is something I am very familiar with, and I’m happy that she found her way to continuing life. Your descriptions of joy bring a warm feeling to my chest, and a smile to my lips. Simple joy is wonderful.

      • It is a wonder why we don’t recognize more of the joyous opportunities and focus more on complicated ‘if…then’ equations which typically don’t make us nearly as happy as we anticipate.

  24. Shalom Shimon. I enjoyed this post very much and look forward to more in the days ahead. Thank you for following me. I look forward to receiving your comments on the different themes in the days ahead. Be Ollin.

    • Aleichem hashalom, Alan. And welcome to blogland. Glad that you enjoyed this post. No need to thank me for following you. I just used that possibility as a book mark, so that I would be able to check you out, because of your interesting blog name. So far, you had one short post that I don’t agree with, and nothing posted on your ‘about’ page, so I was curious to see where you were going.

  25. Hello, Shimon,
    I have just found your site and thoroughly enjoyed your discussion, despite the fact that I am Christian. Surely, anyone who has so thoroughly thought out an idea and so generously and eloquently presented it, in a second language, deserves a careful reading and a considerate reply. Thank you for stretching my thinking the way you have.
    I found this post inspiring and enjoyed the way it forced me to analyze various compartments in my mind. I also enjoyed the photo of your beautiful mother in the more recent post.
    Something about happiness that I have long been taught, is that like the word itself stems from the root for “happenings”, happiness depends largely upon what happens to us, whereas contentment is a command: We are to be content. Those who refuse to practice contentment appear unhappy, no matter what happens. Joy, though, is a gift only God can give.
    Of course, this may conflict with what you believe, but it helps me sort and manage all my many thoughts. People usually tell me I think too much, but they only say that when I contribute to conversations.
    So if it seems to you that I have thought or said too much, just consider it the tip of the iceberg, for me, and please forgive it. Thanks.
    Katharine

    • Hi there, Katharine. Glad that you found my blog interesting, and enjoyed the discussion. I have great respect for my Christian neighbors, and don’t think that religion has to be a divisive influence, especially since Christianity is related in many ways to Judaism. It is interesting, this relationship you point out, between happiness and happenings. I had never heard of that or thought of that before. In my language, Hebrew, there is no connection between the two words. I like thinking, and like listening to thinking people, so you don’t have to worry about that I will join those who suppose you think too much. Thank you for your comment, and consider yourself quite welcome to take part in any conversation here.

  26. I’ve come here from Scott’s Place–I have seen your thoughtful comments there; sometimes I hear your words with a haunting quality, which made me curious.

    Teachers are in short supply, sir, and certainly not of the accepting variety. Thank you for being here.

    I, too, have learned to choose happiness and it is a powerful stance, one that holds me gently as the world swirls around.

    Best to you, Laurel

    • Thank you very much, Laurel, for coming by and checking me out. When I was a young man, and went out to explore the world and to find out what life was all about, I often heard that a good teacher was a rare find. But I soon discovered, that the most precious of all were the good students. We students, would help one another, and share our adventures. I’m an old man now, but still a student… and it’s a wonderful occupation. My pleasure to get to know you.

  27. i wish i never had to sleep. there aren’t enough hours for me. i had a high school teacher who slept 2 hours a day. he said he trained himself by slowing sleeping less and less, and once he got down to 2 hours, he kept consistent and claimed his body adjusted. i don’t know if that’s true, but i’d love to try it. but i do a lot of driving, and i’d be afraid i might fall asleep if it didn’t work out.

    • I’ve never known anyone who slept just 2 hours a day. I did know someone who slept 3 hours at night, but he would take ‘cat naps’ during the day. I think that we each need a different amount of sleep, and that the best we can do is develop an intuitive relationship with our body,,, so we’re able to listen to its needs. I’ve known some very creative people in my life, and I can assure you that time is not the problem. It’s how we organize our time, and the way we work. Most people waste most of the time given them. Always good to hear from you, Rich.

  28. Fascinating post,meaningful thoughts.Pleasure to read. regards.Jalal Michael Sabbagh

  29. Excellent post. I enjoy the surprise rewards that come with happiness. The smallest things, such as stamps and packets of sugar, are beautiful when contentment is the goal. Thank you.

  30. oh I read Martin Buber! enjoyed to discover the stamp!
    http://flickrcomments.wordpress.com/2011/05/12/friends-2/
    a link to Buber there …

Leave a Reply

