holiday meeting old friends

D1940_009

Friends very dear,
but not part of the day to day routine…
forgotten at times unintentionally
and remembered on the holiday.
what a great excuse to get together
I think, we need more holidays…
for the meeting brings back
what was lost
best to celebrate any holiday
we can get our hands on…
I say to my friends…
Christmas is good.
Maybe we could even work in
Martin Luther King day…

D1940_084

D1940_085

D1940_075

37 responses to “holiday meeting old friends

  1. arbor day! wine and cheese in the shade of a tree.

    • Thanks for the suggestion, Rich, though we have an arbor day too, which we have been celebrating for the last three thousand years. Though we put the accent on planting trees, and not so much on celebrating the fruit. But it is our custom to eat dried fruits of the previous year.

  2. It sounds like you had a wonderful holiday! May you be blessed with many more!

  3. What a beautiful painted table! It is a wonderful thing to serve your guests on a piece of art. Yes, we need to collect our family and friends around us more often than we do. Time gets in the way. These are lovely photographs that say “welcome” in the best way.

    • It is truly a beautiful table, George. I was visiting in the home of the woman who was pouring the wine. And it is her work. Her house is filled with beautiful art, much of it, the product of her own hands. Our holiday continues till the end of the week, and then it’s back to normal. But it has been a wonderful time, with many meetings, and much celebration.

  4. Sincerely hope the holiday was restful and joyful for you, and that connecting with family and friends filled your heart with love and smiles.

    • Actually, it wasn’t that restful at all. But it was joyful. I’m hoping that I will be able to catch up on some rest on the Sabbath. I’ve been meeting with different friends every day, and driving a lot too… Thanks for your comment, N.

  5. Djelem … djelem … I grieve for my fellow Roma people today, Shimon … Being a half breed … I have lived in two worlds for most of my life, Shimon. Where do I belong, Shimon … I don’ t know … and I don’t really care anymore either, Shimon. But I do want to to do right to my children, Shimon … They should have the right to make the choice … Shimon, I would not blame you for abandoning me and “my kind” at this point if you chose to do so now … … I’ll love you for ever and cherish having known you or this short while … Love, cat.

    • I know very little of the Romani people, Cat, and didn’t know it was a day of mourning, two days ago. The words you recalled, are part of the song adopted by the Romani congress in ’71. None of us choose our parents, or the culture in which we were born, my dear Cat, and many of us have chosen to go on in a different direction. As you know, we Jews have suffered many tragedies as well, along the way. And of course, many have chosen to assimilate in other countries and peoples. I think that most people of the world would consider you very lucky to be living in America, and I do hope that you have a good life there… both for you and for your children. Personally, I don’t see people as being of one kind or another. Every person is like a world in itself, and in bridging between those worlds, we all become richer and stronger.

  6. I agree with George, quite a beautiful table. I don’t think we take enough time to enjoy each other either.

    • Yes, the table is a work of art. Painted by the lady of the house. I am very grateful for these breads in the routine, which we enjoy. It gives a lot of taste to life. Thank you, BoJo.

  7. The food and wine in this post makes me so hungry. I am also very grateful you popped over to my blog today. Thank you Shimonz! George Weaver got me here and I am very grateful

    • I’m sure you would have enjoyed the food and wine we’ve been tasting this week. The holiday lasts a week, and it’s quite intensive. I consider myself a friend and an admirer of George, and a friend of hers, is a friend of mine too. Glad to meet you, and I hope to get to know you better.

  8. I feel the joy through your words Shimon. It’s lovely that you spent much needed time with family – it is essential and I hope I spend some such time with my family in Australia soon. You’ve highlighted the importance of family & friends succinctly. Thank you for sharing.

    • Yes, this is a very joyful time, Marina… one of two of our holidays that last a week. So there is enough time to get together with a lot of people. I wish you a very happy and meaningful reunion with your people in Australia. It’s important that we have a break now and then.

  9. I love your poem, the words made me remember of friends long gone but not forgotten. Thank you.

  10. Such bright, fresh images to accompany your poem, which is one I think so many of us can identify with. These gatherings friends and family are essential to our well-being. I agree, we need to come together more often.

    • Yes, Lemony, though our customs may differ a bit, I agree with you that much of what I’m describing here, is common to us all. And it is important to take time out now and then, and remember our friends. Thank you for your comment.

  11. Beautiful table with great food. Yes, we all need more holidays if only to reconnect with those we rarely see.

    • The table was painted by the lady who invited me. She is quite an artist, and it was a great pleasure celebrating in her home. Thanks, Patricia.

  12. We all need more special moments like this.. 🙂

  13. This is a good poem Shimon. I am so glad you have had such a wonderful holiday.

  14. What is the green food in the last photo?

  15. A glass of wine for me too 🙂 How beautiful photographs… As if I can take one of them… I am so glad to hear that you had a nice day with your friends. I loved these square breads (maybe a different name sorry I don’t know) and also this green cut piece in the plate… made me wonder too… Seems to me a kind of cheese but should be made with a green vegetable or herbal… I gues.. 🙂 Thank you so much dear Shimon, Blessing and Happiness, with my love, nia

    • Oh, it would have been great to have you join us around the table, Nia. The square breads are unleavened breads, which means they have been baked without the use of yeast, and are something like a cracker. I find them quite tasty, but some people complain about them. That is the bread we eat on this holiday. The green is a herbal cheese, as you guessed. This holiday lasts a week, and I had many different meetings with friends. It’s been a joy. Thank you for your blessings.

  16. I agree, it’s good to gather and celebrate our love and lives. Lovely photos! Looks like good wine 🙂 …Peace to your day.

    • We had numerous different bottles of wine that day, all of them good. But the one I liked the best was the first one I drank. Afterwards, no one knew which bottle it came from, so I’ll have to keep looking for it. Thank you for your good wishes, Catherine.

  17. Beautifully crafted piece. And I love the photos.

  18. We should take every available opportunity to celebrate something. The photos pare gorgeous – just the food alone is worth celebrating.

    • Yes, we agree on that, yearstricken. I find life so beautiful, and I am so grateful for all I’ve been given, that there is really a lot of reasons for celebration. Though I must admit, that after a week of that, I need some time now for recovery. Thank you so much for your comment.

Leave a Reply

