getting out into the country

D1190_021

Though I’ve lived all my life in the city, my children have chosen, for the most part, to live in the country. And when I visit with them, as I did last week, I am reminded, not only of the pleasures of country life, but of the fact that nowadays, in the era of the internet and the cell phone, many of the advantages of city life are available to those who choose to live in the country too. Of course, there is more need for a car… and often there is more than one to a family. And one can’t just walk down the block to pick up groceries and household needs. The children often have to be taken to see friends and to participate in activities.

D1190_117
but just like in the city, the kids are connected to the computer…

But people live closer to nature; are freer in their relationships to pets and animals, and enjoy large gardens, and large homes too. Adults and children can bicycle around without the constant fear of traffic. And there is plenty of open space.

D1190_094
sculpture by the door

Many young couples have moved to a village in order to improve the quality of their lives, even though they continue to work in the city. And though it means losing some time, commuting to work, it seems that the advantages are still very attractive. In the last generation, we have seen quite an increase in ‘bedroom communities’ where people chose to live, even though they can’t hope to find work close to home.

D1190_086
sculpture in the back yard

This time, the visit was of a personal nature. And as it turned out, I didn’t do any photography at all, But there are plenty of pictures from other times. The trip to Sileet was quite rainy, and there were heavy clouds overhead. But now, back in Jerusalem, we are waiting for snow. We’ve been told that this will be a white Sabbath, and the children here in the neighborhood are anticipating this ultimate winter weather with excitement.

D1190_059
what I like about living in the country

27 responses to “getting out into the country

  1. I do love to live in the country too… As you expressed you feel and you breathe the nature world much more… To be honest the city life makes me tired, so tired… I am glad you to hear that you had a nice weekend trip. Your grandson photograph is so nice with the light and shadows… And also these sculptures fascinated me… So beautiful photographs. Thank you dear Shimon, have a nice and enjoyable weekend, with my love, nia

    • Glad you enjoyed the photos, Nia. Truthfully, I love being in nature, but I have no problem with the city. It doesn’t tire me out, and it always offers me interests and amusement. I suppose that is why I’ve stayed here all my life. Thank you for your comment. It doesn’t surprise me that you enjoyed the sculpture.

  2. Nice piece! I’ve lived in both large cities and in the country and like parts of each. I also enjoy not having a car which you can do in the city. My house now is back a very rough dirt road so I need a heavy pickup truck to get around. But I love that there are deer outside my window in the mornings, and like you say, the animals have a lot of freedom in the country.

    • Yes, It sounds wonderful having deer outside the window in the mornings… and I imagine that this is a fine place for you to collect yourself and sort out your experiences now after having traveled so much and so far recently. May you enjoy every moment and every day, Jordan.

  3. Country life is the life for me.

  4. … did you say SNOW? So that’s where our canadian winter went this year …
    Well, enjoy … and please be safe on slippery roads. Love, cat.

    • No, I regret to say, we have nothing like the Canadian winter. I did visit your country many years ago, and was impressed. Here in Jerusalem, we usually have a few days of snow in winter. Sometimes it comes more than once. I remember winters where everything stopped, and we just sat at home and waited for it to finish… but usually it is quite mild. Thank you for your comment, Cat

  5. I love the roadsign too, I think one of my favourites over the years have been pictures of ducks crossing roads. Just makes me smile.
    As to your thoughts on country living, I’ve been a small town / city dweller for most of my life and the things I notice most about being in the countryside is the dark (no light pollution, great for star gazing) and how noisy it can be in the countryside what with animals, wildlife and farm traffic etc!!

    • Yes, I like the nights too, Claire. There’s a lot of competition with the sky in the city… Most of the noise I hear in the country, is the noise of children… which is something else again. I like farms… like the sights and like the smells too, for the most part. I’ve never seen a sign of ducks crossing the road. That sounds wonderful. Unfortunately, though we have a lot of birds here, ducks are quite scarce. Thanks for your comment.

  6. I live in a city in Indiana, a state in the Midwest that is largely “country.” My neighbor moved back to her hometown, a small town in the country, when she retired so her grandson whom she is raising would have the advantages she perceived she and her son had when going to school in a smaller town. Ironically I left my hometown and country precisely because everyone knew everyone. I wanted anonymity so I could explore who I was without the constant shaping comments from everyone else. Surely there are advantages to both and maybe the differences don’t matter as much as how we relate to where we are every moment, how we relate to ourselves and the “objects” our minds designate as being “other than me.” Maybe it is ultimately about relationships, how we deal with everything in our lives – with judgement, with attention, with caring or indifference, with affection or rejection. Maybe life is simpler than all the choices we believe we have when the real choices are located interiorly, in the gradual revelation of what can be known.

    • Having lived all my life in the city, I am used to privacy, and used to the availability of all kinds of services and entertainment. I suppose I don’t know that much about the disadvantages of living in the country. For me, it’s always been a vacation… a holiday… and I have romantic notions about being close to nature. But it does seem to me, that even when we are in the press of humanity, and have unlimited access to human contact, we still have to make our choices, and only have so much time or energy for others. This is true of the internet too. So ultimately, I would agree with you, Orlando, that the most important choices are the internal ones… and how we wish to spend our time in this world. Thank you very much. Your comments are always an important addition.

  7. lovely piece – the country looks beautiful. I’d love to see it myself one day.

    • Thank you very much Marina… I should have posted more of the village, the houses, and the countryside… maybe one of these days I will. It is a very beautiful place…

  8. I miss Jerusalem. I miss Israel. When you read your writing, it so reminds me how beautiful it was. I dream of her. Thank you!

    • When I was young, Marilyn, I traveled quite a bit around the world, and found some beautiful places, and a lot of very beautiful people. At times, it seemed as if I could go on for ever on a continuous adventure, because I lived in the moment… and I was constantly learning new things… But I couldn’t forget my love for Jerusalem, and it brought me back. I can understand your dreaming of her, and of Israel. And wish you great happiness in your home environment too.

  9. When I read your writing. I am queen of typos. I did live in Jerusalem for 9 years … and when I dream, I dream in Hebrew, even though I can barely speak it anymore, my unconscious remembers.

    • Don’t worry about the typos. It just shows that you take things easy, which is definitely a plus. How wonderful that you can still dream in Hebrew. It is such a beautiful language.

  10. Fascinating to get a glimpse of life in your country. There are many similarities between the aspects of rural v city life that you describe and those in this country too.

    • Yes, it’s a strange thing… it’s been so long since I traveled abroad, that when something new pops up here, I always think it’s a local phenomenon. But often I’m told, that it happens all over the world. I’ve read that more and more people are moving to the cities of the world, so I didn’t think that much about the longings people might have for the country life. Thank you for your comment, and thank you for coming by.

  11. Wonderful post. My wife and I were blessed with finding teaching jobs in a small community in Northern Ontario (Canada). We were both from the more densely populated southern part of the province: my wife was from a large city of London On.. Now our son lives and studies in London. We find the pace of life there a bit over whelming at times an our son would prefer a smaller community.

    • Glad you liked the post, elmediat. It sounds like an ideal sort of situation, working together with your wife in a community like that. I also had a look at your web site (http://artmedia.homestead.com/index.html), and was impressed by what you are offering your students. It could be that coming from a small town, the big city is overwhelming for your son. But from my experience, there are some very real advantages of the city for a college student. I wish him success in his studies.

  12. Beautiful photos and I like the road sign, looks almost like a Disney character.

Leave a Reply

